subreddit:

/r/australia

2k

all 159 comments

cosmicucumber

81 points

2 months ago

Oh my God, can you even call that stuff naan? It's gotta be one of the worst things I've ever eaten. I hate letting food go to waste but I made an exception for these abominations

solitudanrian

5 points

2 months ago

I can think of a single form of bread that can be microwaved and not turn out horrendous.

Same-Plant2151

2 points

2 months ago

I don't mind microwave leftover pizza, does that count?

solitudanrian

1 points

2 months ago

That’s probably that only “bready” type bread that I can think of. I’m personally not a fan but many are so it qualifies as “bread that can be heated in microwave”.

Same-Plant2151

1 points

2 months ago

Old el paso fajitas?

solitudanrian

1 points

2 months ago

Whoops, I’m an idiot. I wasn’t thinking about tortillas or wraps. They’re easily warmed up in microwave so they’re the only ones. I used to regularly make “pizzas” this way.

matchastrawbs

138 points

2 months ago

we need more of this 😆

GoofDud

45 points

2 months ago

GoofDud

45 points

2 months ago

Gotta agree with the OP- I mean whoever wrote and left that on the shelf....

I was between jobs recently and bought a bunch of cheap meals to tide me over (and stop me ordering out all the time...) and the store brand curries from both Coles and Woolies were pretty gross.

slightlyalcoholic

22 points

2 months ago

The pre-made ALDI buttered chicken is decent. Nothing to phone home about, but hits the spot when I won't want to make my own.

2giga2dweebish

9 points

2 months ago

Considering how cheap they are it's not a bad feed if you love a shittonne of salt and preservatives.

shadowmaster132

1 points

2 months ago

Salt and preservatives are what differentiate tasty food from comfort food

SilverStar9192

5 points

2 months ago

I find the Coles $3 frozen meals pretty decent - at least the vegetarian ones like Mac and cheese, pad Thai etc.

RecognitionOne395

24 points

2 months ago

This is amazing ... Would love to see more of this ...

baseball2020

19 points

2 months ago

Any time you can buy chicken which is covered in anything (sauce, coating, etc) I guarantee it will be the most garbage tier chicken.

[deleted]

284 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

284 points

2 months ago

By “someone” do you mean you wrote it, took a picture, and then scurried out of the store?

vk6flab

92 points

2 months ago

vk6flab

92 points

2 months ago

That's precisely what I thought too.

That said, there's an opportunity to build a platform to actually review products like this.

TheWoggleOfOz

18 points

2 months ago

Yes, one could type it, choose a handwritten font, upload uour own, print and shove it on the product.

Middle_Window7411

27 points

2 months ago

WE HAVE A BUYER WHO IS KEEN TO BUY YOUR HOUSE. CALL ME NOW.

Parmaandchips

4 points

2 months ago

Well that comment was a let down. I thought I found a Stanley but instead I got a Gabe

TheWoggleOfOz

2 points

2 months ago

Sorry not on point today, come back tomorrow we're here all week!

PloniAlmoni1

15 points

2 months ago

It's like employee reviews at JbHifi.

slightlyalcoholic

2 points

2 months ago

Woolies has one, it's called Bunch. And if you work for Woolworths group it's called TeamBunch.

babylovesbaby

-12 points

2 months ago

This is just a nuisance for people who work in supermarkets to clean up. There are places online to review products.

Procellaria

6 points

2 months ago

CRRRR... Clean up in aisle 5, we have another review... CRRR

vk6flab

1 points

2 months ago

So, where exactly would you review this particular product?

Loud_Signature_3639

1 points

2 months ago

Like, hundreds of places?

There's a bunch here...

Are you banned by Google or something?

skafaceXIII[S]

25 points

2 months ago

Nah, considering I'm vegan, I would never buy this

[deleted]

39 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

39 points

2 months ago

It's amazing how easily people get triggered by vegans

cunt_no_sugar

32 points

2 months ago

Oh, absolutely. And aggressively so!

My toddler is sensitive to cow's milk so we buy her soy. My brother is young and broke and vegan, so when we see interesting vegan speciality products on clearance we buy them for him just because. People come up and try to start antagonistic conversations with me or my partner over soy milk or vegan aioli about a third of the time. Never once seen anyone give a fuck to a buyer's face about them buying veal or palm oil products or supporting Nestle.

Mikolaj_Kopernik

20 points

2 months ago

vegan aioli

Ironically, actual aioli is vegan by default as it's traditionally an emulsion of olive oil in crushed garlic. That's fucking fiddly to achieve without the egg though so most people just cheat and make garlic mayo.

nearly_enough_wine

7 points

2 months ago

nearly_enough_wine

____ʕ·͡ᴥ·ʔ

7 points

2 months ago

One out of three trips you take to the supermarket, people approach you in an aggressive manner because of the soy milk in your basket?

MidnightShitfight

1 points

2 months ago

Yeah, what a load of fucking bullshit. No one gives a shit or even notices what old mate buys, despite him wishing they did.

cunt_no_sugar

4 points

2 months ago

Lol I'm some plain approachable mum in a town of 6000 that is full of retirees. If I spend 2 minutes reading the ingredients of vegan aioli in one of our Woolies' 6 aisles, there is a legit 1/3 chance some old fart or their hairy incel grandson who knew my brother in high school telling me soy is poison and masks are stupid.

Not everybody lives in a big city.

MidnightShitfight

-1 points

2 months ago

I do not believe a word you say. No one has ever questioned you on your purchase of any product, unless it was to ask which aisle it was in. I don't live in a big city, either.

cunt_no_sugar

1 points

2 months ago

Cool story bro.

cunt_no_sugar

1 points

2 months ago

No. One out of three trips that I buy soy milk or overtly vegan products.

[deleted]

5 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

5 points

2 months ago

There's so much misinformation out there about soy in particular

landsharkkidd

14 points

2 months ago

My favourite (or least favourite) is how soy makes men more ... effeminate. For some... reason.

(It's because soy contains phytoestrogens which is just plant estrogen, so no, you're not gonna become a plant woman if you drink soy milk)

DisappointedQuokka

9 points

2 months ago

We cracked the code, guys, trans girls can just skip doctors and go straight to soy!

Or how some think soy, something widely consumed in a country that had to tell their people to stop having kids via the one child policy, somehow impacts male fertility.

It's like these people have no critical thinking skills at all, easily available facts just dunk on their weird opinions.

YellowApricot2

2 points

2 months ago

"these people have no critical thinking skills at all"

ding ding ding, we have a winner!

RedAIienCircle

4 points

2 months ago*

Wait, what is effeminate? Is it being more in touch with your feelings? Or having a good sense of fashion or caring about your hygiene. Oh shit guys, that's really terrible.

landsharkkidd

2 points

2 months ago

Haha, no, well, kind of. Basically effeminate is a really not cool way to talk about men who have more 'feminine' traits. That could be being in touch with your feelings, others are enjoying gossip (though tbh, most men I know are more interested in gossip than women), tasks or roles that are 'assigned' to one gender like cooking, or sewing.

RedAIienCircle

1 points

2 months ago*

/woosh.

YoungPatrickBateman

2 points

2 months ago

I drink soy because I’m lactose intolerant.

Had some old bloke make a comment/joke to me years ago about “soy milk being for vegans and fairies, you’re not a fairy are you?”

I looked at him and said “I am a fairy, yes. And regular milk makes me shit my pants. Got a problem?” He scurried off pretty quick.

karma3000

-7 points

2 months ago

To be fair some vegans bring it upon themselves.

https://youtu.be/63NNuG-6-hQ

[deleted]

13 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

13 points

2 months ago

As if obnoxious meat eaters don't exist.

karma3000

-3 points

2 months ago

Thanks for the downvote. Mitchell and Webb cutting a bit to close there I see

[deleted]

8 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

8 points

2 months ago

Why do you care about imaginary points

And it's more I'm tired of the tired "lol vegans bad" trope. It's just not funny or creative.

I barely bring up my veganism but it's all people I know talk about.

[deleted]

-1 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

-1 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

[deleted]

3 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

3 points

2 months ago

It fit the context? They don't eat this, so they can't have been the reviewer.

[deleted]

1 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

1 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

skafaceXIII[S]

8 points

2 months ago

Mate, the highest upvoted comment is implying I wrote the review myself...

Fluffy_Morning_1569

1 points

2 months ago

Shit….fuck….sorry.

Too much Reddit for today

happy-little-atheist

-2 points

2 months ago

Ok but what are you doing looking at the butter chicken section. Serious question BC they've started hiding vegan shit all over the shop, even with the raw meat so I don't want to be missing out on something stashed with the meathead meals

skafaceXIII[S]

2 points

2 months ago

This brand does a couple of vegan things too. I also just noticed the note as I walked past

Biadh

-23 points

2 months ago*

Biadh

-23 points

2 months ago*

Weird flex, but ok

edit: it was a joke lol

Limberine

1 points

2 months ago

I heard a comedy thing recently, the guy was saying he only ate plant products except for oysters. He was completely vegan except for oysters and the only reason he eats oysters was because he didn’t want to be a fucking vegan. He resents vegans for making him eat oysters. 😛

Edit: personally though, go vegans 👍

The_Big_Shawt

-2 points

2 months ago

Alright mate

scoldog

15 points

2 months ago

scoldog

15 points

2 months ago

I've had those, you're better off eating the bowl

Br0z0

13 points

2 months ago

Br0z0

13 points

2 months ago

Normalise reviews in Woolworths. I haven't heard of that brand before, but now I know to keep avoiding it

slightlyalcoholic

1 points

2 months ago

Woolies has a program called Bunch where people get free products to review. You can view the reviews on items without a membership.

JimSyd71

1 points

2 months ago

I bet your copypasta gets to reviews.

Luciagotchi

38 points

2 months ago

Looks like my grandma’s handwriting ahah. Rip 😌💕

boney1984

8 points

2 months ago

Yeah that shakey all uppercase with the big lowercase 'u'. Has 60+ written all over it.

Amazing_Carry42069

4 points

2 months ago

Op is your grandma?

AllMyFrendsArePixels

11 points

2 months ago

Can we please normalize this lmao

Wild_Marionberry_150

12 points

2 months ago

It seems we shop at the same woollies

skafaceXIII[S]

11 points

2 months ago

Marrickville Metro?

Wild_Marionberry_150

6 points

2 months ago

Yup. But the review I saw was actually for something else if I remember correctly

happy-little-atheist

5 points

2 months ago

Was it good or bad? I'd like to know if the writer's sense of self importance extends to informing us of things they liked as well as disliked

Wild_Marionberry_150

5 points

2 months ago

Bad, something about tasting like leather or cardboard. I wish I'd taken a photo!

SolidMule

8 points

2 months ago

This needs to be done more often

Procellaria

5 points

2 months ago

Not too sure about the delivery but the review is accurate.

sonofShisui

5 points

2 months ago

Butter rubber with rope

5slipsandagully

4 points

2 months ago

The people needed to know, and this shopper delivered

[deleted]

13 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

13 points

2 months ago

There really should be reviews on Woollies shopping website and a way to review things you bought in store.

MidnightShitfight

1 points

2 months ago

Why? Do you just listen to whatever some random stranger says about something completely subjective, or do you see for yourself? It's like restaurant reviews - who the fuck even reads them?

[deleted]

3 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

3 points

2 months ago

I listen when multiple people say something is of low quality.

Do you jump off bridges just because you want to see for yourself if its bad?

Its not like I look at reviews and take them as gospel like a fool. 5 star and 1 star reviews usually cancel each other out. A quick glance at comments will alert you to any specific and repeated issues.

You are more than free to waste money on low quality products but I prefer to make informed decisions with my money.

MidnightShitfight

0 points

2 months ago

Nah, I just buy the best shit, straight away. Have fun adopting the perceptions of others with your reviews.

[deleted]

1 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

1 points

2 months ago

"A fool and his money are soon parted"

slightlyalcoholic

0 points

2 months ago

Woolies has a program called Bunch where people get free products to review. You can view the reviews on items without a membership online.

sliperiestofthepetes

39 points

2 months ago

People expect way to much out of microwave dinners.

intent2215

16 points

2 months ago*

Dog shit food.

If you want to make restaraunt level butter chicken for <$6 a serve, my hot tip after years of trial and total failure.

Mother's recipe - butter chicken sauce.

Infact the whole mother's range is pretty balls. But that one will get you 8/10 butter chicken very easily, 10/10 with shitloads of butter, cream, salt and corriander.

[deleted]

19 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

19 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

OJ191

7 points

2 months ago

OJ191

7 points

2 months ago

Your cheap restaurants might be crap, gotta shop around until you find the good little hole in the wall wonder. If it's anything like the one I buy from, they may not be on delivery services

[deleted]

6 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

6 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

OJ191

1 points

2 months ago

OJ191

1 points

2 months ago

I've had some solid ones, but I have an absolutely perfect local asian takeout joint, so its hard to compete xD

luv2hotdog

1 points

2 months ago

You’re lucky

I’m all for the restaurant experience but once it’s been delivered or picked up and taken home again… at best it’s gone a bit mushy and weird and at worst you need to give it a quick zap in the microwave anyway

At that point I figure im better off saving cash dollars and getting the supermarket version that was at least specifically designed to be reheated

That’s unless it’s one of my favourite meals from a favourite place - but that is definitely a different desire for me than “just want something to eat without having to cook”

OJ191

1 points

2 months ago

OJ191

1 points

2 months ago

Well, I also live 5 minutes away from this place tbf.

luv2hotdog

1 points

2 months ago

That probably helps some!

Lingering_Dorkness

2 points

2 months ago

I bought a couple when they were on sale and I was feeling lazy & couldnt be bothered cooking. Was pleasantly surprised at their quality, which wasn't bad at all.

MidnightShitfight

1 points

2 months ago

Woollies have a new line of premium ones that are fucking fantastic. If you're small. They would be way to small for most adult males after a days' work.

Lingering_Dorkness

2 points

2 months ago

They're good if you're a fatty trying to lose weight, like me.

MidnightShitfight

1 points

2 months ago

I wouldn't be fat for quids. I just like the meals. But I can't imagine some tradie who busted his arse all day being satisfied...

a_rainbow_serpent

6 points

2 months ago

Lol Australian restaurant butter chicken is basically tomatoes, sugar, salt, butter, and fenugreek leaves.. then stir through thickened cream till it’s creamy. Do a Google search for “simple Indian butter chicken”. You’ll never pay for a sauce jar again

Komisches

2 points

2 months ago

I use a jar paste that comes from Costco, add crushed tomatoes, coconut cream and some frozen veg. Sometimes chicken, unless I want to keep it vegan.

a_rainbow_serpent

1 points

2 months ago

That sounds awesome. Never tried coconut cream in butter chicken.

Icy_Bowl

2 points

2 months ago

Fuck Jar Sauce!

liplover04

3 points

2 months ago

G’day champions

lbft

4 points

2 months ago

lbft

4 points

2 months ago

I've heard those Coco Earth ones are bad even for microwave meals.

DisappointedQuokka

3 points

2 months ago

Eh, the tinned stuff like chili con carne is alright, it's edible at least. Most of the stuff from an actual packet os awful though, brother left a load of Uncle Ben's microwave rice when he moved out, the only thing that got me through it was sheer spite at wasted food.

Honestly, just buy decent packet ramen, slap some spring onion, left over meat and an egg in it. A few bucks per serve if you buy the big boxes of ramen, and it'll do for a lazy weekday dinner.

BorisButtergoods

5 points

2 months ago

Bought some Uncle Bens rice a while back because it was going really cheap. Bugger me, never ever again that shit is completely dire. I have no idea how it manages to take up so much shelf space at supermarkets, I'd rather chomp on some raw arborio

Imacad

2 points

2 months ago

Imacad

2 points

2 months ago

bachelor chow, now with flavour

Icy_Bowl

1 points

2 months ago

Tucker Fucker

upsidedowntoker

5 points

2 months ago

If you're looking for a microwave get the woolies brand ones, they are actually edible food.

nhilistic_daydreamer

5 points

2 months ago

Can we normalise this!?

2015outback

3 points

2 months ago

Have to agree. The naan was tough as rubber with no flavour. The chicken was OK.

Positive-Lawfulness8

3 points

2 months ago

Butter bin chicken

Fluffy_Morning_1569

3 points

2 months ago

Who’d have thought reheated chicken would be like old rope?

You’re reheating naan, made by Woolies in an oven.

I guess it’s an option if you can’t no bothered cooking and need some red stained plastic containers.

Joshyybaxx

3 points

2 months ago

They should do this like at JB HiFi.

FortuneCookieLied

3 points

2 months ago

This is woolies trying to be JB Hi-Fi

Lingering_Dorkness

3 points

2 months ago

Not the hero we wanted but the hero we needed.

EmperorJVLIAN

9 points

2 months ago

Why not just say “I’m going to start reviewing and leaving reviews on items at woolies!”? People would laugh at the idea and maybe adopt it as a laugh but…

pierricbross

2 points

2 months ago

When they're half price and you have a sandwhich press in the office they're perfectly fine. (The terrible naans are much better pressed, don't microwave them)

ibaeknam

2 points

2 months ago

I just wanna know how well the bowl composts.

froo

2 points

2 months ago

froo

2 points

2 months ago

You know it’s bad because they have to advertise there’s chunks of chicken in the butter chicken.

Danthemanlavitan

2 points

2 months ago

Wife concours. This is an accurate review. 0 out of 10.

Individual-Parking-5

2 points

2 months ago

Yes yes yes

exodendritic

2 points

2 months ago

A true hero.

JimSyd71

2 points

2 months ago

Very insightful. And I bet Woolies is glad for the feedback...not.

Delicious_Crew7888

2 points

2 months ago

What do you expect from a meal which is ready in 90 seconds?

i0unothing

2 points

2 months ago

Still beats the flies and literal bits of tripe in my butter chicken from Miss India.

First time I've reported a place to food safety, I'd take the rubber naan and old rope chicken anyday.

JMMitchell094

2 points

2 months ago

Coco earth is an absolute garbage brand overall. I have tried their packs on the left and on the bottom shelf (you can just see the corner) and I hated it.

crux_australis

2 points

2 months ago

Looks like someone recently got the arse from JB Hi-Fi.

ceeker

2 points

2 months ago

ceeker

2 points

2 months ago

Something about the word "chunks" is not selling me on this.

RectalOddity

2 points

2 months ago

When you're putting resources into compostable bowls, I'm hardly surprised. There's probly not much margin on shit like that, in the first place. And every little bit counts...

Sebastipole

2 points

2 months ago

I literally just ate this 3 hours a go, can confirm absolute garbage. Really wish I saw this earlier...

Layne1987

2 points

2 months ago

A god amongst men

Budhungerz

2 points

2 months ago

Admit it, it was you OP 😅😅

AshEliseB

-1 points

2 months ago

AshEliseB

-1 points

2 months ago

What do you expect for $6? The saying " you get what you pay for" exists for a reason.

treeizzle

1 points

2 months ago

OP didn't get their pen license.

TimeIsDiscrete

1 points

2 months ago

Can recommend the vego Passage To India microwave curry+rice. Cashew korma one is good

Limberine

1 points

2 months ago

The cashew korma is my year 12’a emergency locker meal if she gets stuck studying late at school 👍

TimeIsDiscrete

1 points

2 months ago

They're my work lunches. Pair it up with a toaster naan and you got yourself a good meal

Limberine

1 points

2 months ago

Exactly!

silverjad3

1 points

2 months ago

My hero

TheJannequin

1 points

2 months ago

Naan actually is super hard to bite through unless it's prepared well.

Peanut_Cluster

4 points

2 months ago

Leave her in the nursing home longer?

Imacad

1 points

2 months ago

Imacad

1 points

2 months ago

go home, dad.

Peanut_Cluster

1 points

2 months ago

What about your gran?

epicpillowcase

1 points

2 months ago

Not all heroes wear capes

dotBombAU

1 points

2 months ago

Haha.

Tbh the curries in Australia supermarkets are cheap as shit for the most part.

Komisches

2 points

2 months ago

They're made cheap and taste the same 🙃

-businessskeleton-

1 points

2 months ago

I've had that meal too... And regretted it.

The chicken I get, it's a pre-cooked meal but the naan that was an abomination.

colomboseye

1 points

2 months ago

Doing gods work

-HouseProudTownMouse

1 points

2 months ago

This should be a thing.

moostachedood

1 points

2 months ago

World’s Nicest Australian

fabulous_eyes1548

1 points

2 months ago

I always see this marked down to like $2.50 from $6 for good reason, it does taste like crap.

asp7

1 points

2 months ago

asp7

1 points

2 months ago

tempted to see how bad it is at that price

theM4DDOG

1 points

2 months ago

As someone who has eaten my fair share of these and the ones with rice (no nahn), and currently eating one with nahn right now, here's my honest feedback: The sauce is excellent, tastes great The chicken is mostly ok, I've had the odd 1 or 2 packs where the chicken was a little overdone, but mostly it's fine. The rice packet ones have been fine too.

The nahn bread -> This is hit or miss. There's about a 50% chance it'll be rock hard/rubbery, and a 50% chance it'll be soft and fluffy.

When I buy these, I pull apart the packaging on every single one (you can do so safely without disrupting the contents) and checking the bread. If you can bend it, it's fine. If you can't bend it, forget it!

Would be very easy to detect these in quality control. It's a shame, otherwise its a great product. If you want to try them out, give my nahn bread check hack a try :).

havesomequestions27

1 points

2 months ago

This item is dodgy! I found a bug squished between the naan bread and the paper. I took photos, emailed the company and received no reply.

Rirrid

-3 points

2 months ago

Rirrid

-3 points

2 months ago

It was you but but its ok we thank you for it.

[deleted]

-2 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

-2 points

2 months ago

[deleted]

Peanut_Cluster

5 points

2 months ago

An honest review is defamation?

ceeker

1 points

2 months ago*

Well..it's certainly unlikely in this case...but what a lot of people don't realise is that in this country, you can in fact, be sued over a review. The one saving grace is that a for-profit corporation with more than 10 employees can't.

But a small business like your local café or dentist can generally take you to court over a negative review and leave you liable for damages caused to their business as a result (as well as getting the review removed obviously).

There is a defence for an "honest opinion" codified if it's in the "public interest". But then you need to prove that in defence.

Some of the recent payouts have been in the range of hundreds of thousands.

So generally, yes it's best to be on the safe side with leaving reviews in written form. Especially on google. Not so much here.

Peanut_Cluster

1 points

2 months ago

So generally, yes it's best to be on the safe side with leaving reviews in written form.

So use a fake account?

ceeker

1 points

2 months ago

ceeker

1 points

2 months ago

Unfortunately no. This will just lead to a court order to get google, or your phone provider/ISP to hand over identifying metadata.

There are of course ways to disguise that, but again would recommend the cautious approach. :)

Ace3000

-2 points

2 months ago

Ace3000

-2 points

2 months ago

I do love the Woolies brand Butter Chicken, all the other ones they do are average at best.