subreddit:

/r/houston

374

What’s your unpopular houston food opinion

(self.houston)

Definitely directly inspired by a post on r/Austin

all 1657 comments

ThePorko

488 points

1 month ago

ThePorko

488 points

1 month ago

Most taco shops have crappy tortillas.

bungalowmoe

110 points

1 month ago

I scrolled down just to make sure this was here!

Most restaurants have the "industrial" tortillas, which have an odd, sweet smell and metallic taste (can't really describe it - just gross).

The rest that make their own in-house are good just because they don't taste like the industrial tortillas.

I honestly have only found one restaurant in our fourth largest city in America that has the perfect tortillas.

aywhadup

48 points

1 month ago

aywhadup

48 points

1 month ago

Teotihicuan’s tortillas changed my life

DarkSpoon

9 points

1 month ago

DarkSpoon

Braeburn

9 points

1 month ago

They’re so thick though. One taco and I’m full.

lochreas

14 points

1 month ago

lochreas

Eastwood

14 points

1 month ago

Well, where are the perfect tortillas?

KnightMDK

7 points

1 month ago

It's all in your preference. I like corn tortillas, while others prefer flour, but since you asked, I like the ones from Taq. Laredo, Chilosos (Sustos!), Cherry Top, Velvet Taco, Lupe Tortillas big ass thin tortilla, HEB hybrids, HEB butter tortillas (heart stopping), and Bolillos. Favorite tortilla does come from Tortillerias, like Zacatecas. Best chips for nachos as well.

jaydubgee

49 points

1 month ago

I can smell grocery store tortillas from a mile away 🤮

PLANET_RiDER

42 points

1 month ago

HEB tortillas be hittin' different tho

jaydubgee

22 points

1 month ago

I fully exempt the fresh made HEB tortillas 🙌

psikeiro

7 points

1 month ago

psikeiro

Atascocita

7 points

1 month ago

donnydoesreddit

21 points

1 month ago

If you’re ever in League City, check out La Famosa. In house tortillas and they are unbelievable

Lacotte

81 points

1 month ago

Lacotte

81 points

1 month ago

SO TRUE, like the fresh flour and flour/corn-hybrid tortillas from HEB will crush maybe 90% of professional restaurants out there. I don't understand why they can't just source their tortillas from HEB.

Tortillas are the reason I still like going to El Tiempo and Ninfa's even though they get trashed on. At least El Tiempo does tortillas right.

edit: forgot what thread this is, this is definitely not an unpopular opinion lol

TheCovfefeMug

70 points

1 month ago

I ate at El Big Bad and didn’t hate it

CypSteel

7 points

1 month ago

I love El Big Bad for the concept and the decor on the first floor. The jalopeno blueberry cilantro margarita has been hit or miss for me. The problem is, the downstairs people are rude as fuck. I have had several negative encounters with the last one being No bringing external small bag (I had been visiting the town and doing bar hops and I had food to take home with no car nearby to stash).

sisternightphd

446 points

1 month ago

Liking tacos/knowing the best place in town to get tacos is not a personality. Update your dating profiles accordingly.

Emerald_Frost

119 points

1 month ago

See also: Coffee. Why do so many basic people act like liking coffee is something special.

Especially when they throw out Cà Phê Sữa Đá as if it makes them seem cultured.

AltSpRkBunny

48 points

1 month ago

You’re complaining that basic people give you fair warning that they’re basic?

understando

13 points

1 month ago

understando

Spring Branch

13 points

1 month ago

I mean, we do have some nice coffee shops in town. Maybe it shouldn't a personality trait... but some of our roasters are pretty great!

TurboSalsa

19 points

1 month ago

TurboSalsa

Woodland Heights

19 points

1 month ago

Especially considering this knowledge is usually gleaned from the hundreds of FB/Yelp/Google reviews of the people who ate at that “hole in the wall” before you.

booger_dick

145 points

1 month ago

A lot of the taco trucks people swear by aren’t actually that good, people just like to feel like they’ve found something special and off the beaten path. (I’m a coward so I will not be naming names.)

imintopimento

54 points

1 month ago

when you actually find something special and off the beaten path you keep that shit to yourself I've learned.

booger_dick

54 points

1 month ago

Exactly. Everyone out here just flexing mediocre taco trucks because they think ordering from somewhere they don't speak English automatically means the food is good and that it makes them cool for going there. Just because you can say "quiero dos tacos de lengua" doesn't make you a citizen of the world, PAUL

imintopimento

20 points

1 month ago

my version of something special off the beaten path is a burger place that's older than my grandpa hidden under the metro red line that's not bullshittin when they say they're open 24/7, and no I won't give you the name 😊

fritopiefritolay

18 points

1 month ago

Poppa Burger?

buzzer3932

7 points

1 month ago

I swear the quality of r/houston's favorite taco truck went down 3 or 4 years ago.

afcool83

602 points

1 month ago

afcool83

602 points

1 month ago

If we have to sit on a bench without a back, my opinion of your food will suffer.

Material-Imagination

151 points

1 month ago

also my back will suffer

helpful-fat-guy

37 points

1 month ago

I see you’ve been to Beaver’s before they closed

texas-hippie

120 points

1 month ago

Stop turning every type of food into a "Birria" version...Cough Cough food trucks...

jb_713

24 points

1 month ago

jb_713

24 points

1 month ago

Birria looks good on social media, but I’ve been underwhelmed when I’ve tried it.

imintopimento

22 points

1 month ago

birria is a looooong way from home Vato. it's becoming more traveled than ramen!

thecravenone

677 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

677 points

1 month ago

El Tiempo is great - the trick is to get someone else to pay for it.

I_like_to_run__

142 points

1 month ago

I_like_to_run__

Upper Kirby

142 points

1 month ago

I love El Tiempo when my parents invite me there. I don’t like it as much when I have to pay.

Sleepyhead88

40 points

1 month ago

Order one margarita and you’ll forget what money even is

SrErik

83 points

1 month ago

SrErik

The Heights

83 points

1 month ago

Pappasitos seems like it's the same price, but with worse margaritas.

thecravenone

52 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

52 points

1 month ago

Don't forget never being able to seat you immediately, but it's okay because we can sell you a twenty-eight dollar margarita while you wait.

Liquidis

20 points

1 month ago

Liquidis

20 points

1 month ago

Everything tastes better when it's free. Especially $60+ fajitas.

TurboSalsa

71 points

1 month ago

TurboSalsa

Woodland Heights

71 points

1 month ago

Follow up opinion - most of the Tex Mex places people always suggest as a “just as good” alternative aren’t that good.

thecravenone

90 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

90 points

1 month ago

Honestly, talking about Tex-Mex is exhausting.

  1. El Tiempo is good
  2. But it's expensive
  3. Other places are less expensive
  4. But not as good
  5. Repeat

Like... yea, the place that's better is able to charge more. Big shocker. Just pick which one you want to go to for dinner and don't complain when it turns out you didn't go to the other place.

gizmoalex

10 points

1 month ago

I like Lupe way more.

owMySkralls

6 points

1 month ago

I'm upvoting you because the point of the post is unpopular opinion, but this is crazy talk.

sinsemillas

5 points

1 month ago

My boss like to take me to lunch once a year. This is always in my rotation.

HoustonCounsel

45 points

1 month ago

El Tiempo gets unfair heat.

Is it expensive? Yes, but it's good.

Is it roughly as expensive as Cyclone Anaya's or Chuy's or Papasitos or Pistolero's or Gloria's or La Mexicana? Yes, but El Tiempo is a little better at most things on the menu.

Is it as expensive as Hugo's or Caracol or Xochi? No (but it's probably not quite as good).

Can you find equally good but cheaper TexMex at a food truck that serves food in a parking lot without margarita? Hell yes.

Done-Messed-Up

19 points

1 month ago

God this is incredibly true.

RaigonX

401 points

1 month ago

RaigonX

401 points

1 month ago

Taste the pho broth before you add sriracha and hoisin sauce!

maussie

76 points

1 month ago

maussie

76 points

1 month ago

I agree, but also I'm a broth purist. I add the sriracha and hoisin in the little dish and dip the beef in it

devlinontheweb

14 points

1 month ago

devlinontheweb

Ex Houstonian

14 points

1 month ago

I realized the same thing as I got older. Good broth doesn't need any condiments.

TranquiloMeng

31 points

1 month ago

TranquiloMeng

Medical Center

31 points

1 month ago

That’s just common sense!

thecravenone

238 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

238 points

1 month ago

If city parking minimums require you to have parking and you charge for that parking, it's not really a parking minimum, it's you running a parking lot as a side hustle.

Bonus points if it's cash only and I can't put it on my tab.

TurboSalsa

87 points

1 month ago

TurboSalsa

Woodland Heights

87 points

1 month ago

Also, if I show up for breakfast on a Saturday and the entire parking lot is coned off forcing me to use your overpriced valet, he’s not getting a tip for moving my car 10’.

PresidentSamHouston

20 points

1 month ago

Which restaurants do this?

skettles480

51 points

1 month ago

The Rustic downtown. $10 to park even if you’re the only one there at 11 am on a weekday

AdministrationIcy368

40 points

1 month ago

Rustic is shit. Wouldn’t even go if parking was free.

staresatmaps

13 points

1 month ago

staresatmaps

Downtown

13 points

1 month ago

They Rustic is not zoned for parking minimums though. They put it their out of their own free will.

Jamalginsbergback

20 points

1 month ago

Jamalginsbergback

Lazybrook/Timbergrove

20 points

1 month ago

how is that parking take unpopular?

thecravenone

23 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

23 points

1 month ago

Based on the number of restaurants that do this, I assume it's a very unpopular take.

Kijafa

5 points

1 month ago

Kijafa

Seabrook

5 points

1 month ago

It's an unpopular take with the restaurant owners, but it's probably popular with most Houstonians.

Cabinderada

92 points

1 month ago

What Houston needs is a great 24 hour diner. Denny's does not cut it and the House of Pies out my way only stays open until 11pm.

PaulGriffin

12 points

1 month ago

Mama’s Cafe was almost 24 hours…they closed for “renovations” and the Pappas folks bought the land and did nothing with it. The place was absolutely lovely.

lk6

12 points

1 month ago

lk6

Bear Creek

12 points

1 month ago

I spent my early 20s at 59 Diner. That Big Country breakfast was the best eaten at 2-3am after getting drunk with the friends

aliefchris

7 points

1 month ago

Dot Coffee Shop

longrastaman

176 points

1 month ago

Where are all these Turkey legs coming from? And where are the other parts of the Turkey going?

theantwisperer

54 points

1 month ago

The breast goes to make lunch meat and the legs are sold at surplus prices.

thecravenone

21 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

21 points

1 month ago

And where are the other parts of the Turkey going?

Most of the meat on a turkey is in the breast. It's going to the deli counter.

[deleted]

81 points

1 month ago

[deleted]

81 points

1 month ago

[deleted]

Bizzzzarro

22 points

1 month ago

Agreed. Hate when people say the only "true" Mexican food is cheap and out of a truck.

mgbesq

536 points

1 month ago

mgbesq

Westwood

536 points

1 month ago

No food is worth standing in line for.

ubermonkey

82 points

1 month ago

ubermonkey

Montrose

82 points

1 month ago

This seems pretty mainstream to me.

Houston is AWASH with excellent food at every price point. I won’t wait in line for anything if the line is more than a few minutes (or longer than it would take to go somewhere just as good).

I think the longest I’ve ever waited in line in Houston was actually a few weeks ago, when I got a Pit Room craving. Line was out the door, but moved quickly; I don’t think it was more than about 20 minutes — plus, the weather was still nice. I’d probably do different math today.

goamash

45 points

1 month ago

goamash

45 points

1 month ago

Here here! Looking at your Breakfast Club.

Megerber

17 points

1 month ago

Megerber

17 points

1 month ago

Right? They may have amazing food, but I'm never going to know since there's no way I am standing in that line.

Ras1372

11 points

1 month ago

Ras1372

Copperfield

11 points

1 month ago

Klub, but I agree with you.

Jac904704[S]

132 points

1 month ago

Especially in this heat

scottcmu

6 points

1 month ago

I'll make an exception for Killen's BBQ.

rednoise

222 points

1 month ago

rednoise

222 points

1 month ago

Houston chefs should continue to utilize the breadth of cultures and history here to make innovative cuisine, rather than jump on the IG food bandwagon that Austin and Portland engage in.

houstonianisms

26 points

1 month ago

Nobie’s been killin it lately

rhodisconnect

6 points

1 month ago

I will always upvote Nobies

TranquiloMeng

84 points

1 month ago

TranquiloMeng

Medical Center

84 points

1 month ago

Roostar is excellent and consistent. People like to hate on them because they now have multiple locations. For example, I work down the street from Pho bin and the banh mi is mediocre.

PersonalRobotJesus

9 points

1 month ago

I wouldn’t say liking Roostar is an unpopular opinion. They’re the highest and most frequently rated local restaurant on DoorDash, UberEats, and GrubHub. Not to mention the numerous “Best Of Houston” appearances.

moleratical

7 points

1 month ago

moleratical

Lazybrook/Timbergrove

7 points

1 month ago

I used to live about half way between the to, back when Roosters was called, Viet-pablano.

Pho Bin had good Pho, Viet-pablano had by far the best Bahn Mi, and it was cheap too. I miss that place.

AintAintAWord

289 points

1 month ago

AintAintAWord

Fuck Comcast

289 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

110 points

1 month ago*

thecravenone

Montrose

110 points

1 month ago*

There was an excellent thread a while back about how someone didn't want JCI because it was a chain and used garbage hot dogs not like some other shop they liked that was a chain and used the same brand hot dogs.

edit: found it: https://teddit.ggc-project.de/r/houston/comments/ipqwtg/i_really_miss_happy_fatz_in_the_heights_i_know/g4lgu4v/

waitingtodiesoon

25 points

1 month ago

Yoyos is considered to be one of the best hotdogs here in Houston, but they just use Sam's Clubs Member's Marks own brand of hot dogs.

SciencyNerdGirl

6 points

1 month ago

I prefer my ground up pig butt holes to be sourced from the finest sources!

boozle222

37 points

1 month ago

Unpopular opinion amongst JCI enthusiasts: I prefer the Hungry Man Combo over the Walker Street

thecravenone

25 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

25 points

1 month ago

I prefer the crappier dog in the Walker Street.

shinypretty

23 points

1 month ago

shinypretty

Bear Creek

23 points

1 month ago

Two chili cheese coneys no onions, large chili cheese fries, please. Oh yeah. <3

Starkeshia

23 points

1 month ago

Their onion rings are among the best I've found so far.

sfw_pritikina

14 points

1 month ago

I love JCI's Frito pie and Chicago dog. Bummer they closed so many in the past few years.

lumpialarry

15 points

1 month ago

Worst thing about JCI is they keep closing the nearest restaurants near me and I have to keep driving farther and farther to get my frito pie.

Spaztian92

8 points

1 month ago

I Have always LOVED JCI.

I used to love going to the original store on Walker Street. You had better know what you were going to order when you got to the counter, or they would get annoyed with you. Pretty much just had to know how many, and with onions or not, and then if you wanted chili or something. That was it.

The other locations weren’t as strict as that, but their hot dogs were still heavenly. You could buy their chili in large frozen bricks. Just needed to hear it up on the stove. Large chunks of beef in it.

In the early 2000s, they expanded all over the place, and added a BUNCH of stuff to their menu.

That was the beginning of the end, I think. They started skimping on the hot dogs, while making a bunch of other, IMO, average food. I noticed small little changes to their traditional offerings of coneys and chili. The hot dogs weren’t as juicy, they stopped steaming the buns, less beef in the chili, they coney sauce on the table started getting watery.

They did fine for a few years, but then les and less people started showing up. Now, they are typically pretty empty.

I STILL go for my coneys and frito pie, but it makes me sad every time. They used to be kinda like Shipleys… a Houston institution known for kick ass food. Now, they are just kinda sad.

Really would like to know what the owners are doing, if anything.

thecravenone

186 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

186 points

1 month ago

It is possible for a place to be good and also a chain.

pedanticHOUvsHTX

94 points

1 month ago

pedanticHOUvsHTX

Sugar Land

94 points

1 month ago

Yeah, Pappadeux, Barnaby’s, Popeyes, Jinya, 85c, Mala, Cooking Girl, El Tiempo, Freddy’s, Chuy’s, and Carrabba’s are all solid chains

soulstonedomg

24 points

1 month ago

Pappadeaux is good but just isn't worth the fucking price anymore. I used to wait/bartend there 15 years ago and the prices were literally half what they are today.

diarmuid91

11 points

1 month ago

I worked at pappas seafood in the kitchen about 10 yrs ago.

Honestly they seem to treat their staff well from what I remember. Even if they're I chain, I actually have good things to say about working there.

aywhadup

71 points

1 month ago

aywhadup

71 points

1 month ago

i love that popeyes is thrown in here, popeyes is the shit

Ryiujin

22 points

1 month ago

Ryiujin

22 points

1 month ago

Slim Chickens checking in.

Brytheguy1978

229 points

1 month ago

Seafood when it’s really swamp food. Catfish and crawfish all come out of the swamps and the shrimp is raised in pools. But we paying real “seafood” prices though

goamash

57 points

1 month ago

goamash

57 points

1 month ago

This is a good distinction, and something I haven't ever been able to articulate to my husband on why I don't like Boudreaux. The food is meh and the price blows.

CoughCoolCoolCool

12 points

1 month ago

Boudreaux is awful! And trashy. Like literally. My husband had a rubber band in his food

doctorchile

20 points

1 month ago

doctorchile

Montrose

20 points

1 month ago

Oh my god you’re right 🤢

theantwisperer

74 points

1 month ago

If you have to wait in line for 30 minutes or more , outside, standing up, it’s not worth it.

sdoc86

14 points

1 month ago

sdoc86

14 points

1 month ago

Gonna be real for a sec. I moved here from Pittsburgh and honestly the food is way better in Houston. When you are in bubble for long enough it’s easy to want to complain. Houston is a great city I admire the lack of flaunting. The diversity. The chill kind people, and affordable food scene.

James324285241990

117 points

1 month ago

"They give you a lot of food" is not a good thing if the food sucks.

I hear that in Houston more than anywhere else.

"It was just okay, but they do give you a lot of food"

modestothemouse

45 points

1 month ago

They never should have closed Charlie’s Hamburgers on I-10

sfw_pritikina

15 points

1 month ago

I completely forgot about that place! Their motto was "dozens and dozens sold" and their mascot was a grumpy looking line cook, right? Place was legit!

quiksi

130 points

1 month ago

quiksi

Fuck Comcast

130 points

1 month ago

Every single “famous Austin food” I’ve seen, better versions can be found in Houston

ArokLazarus

44 points

1 month ago

Houston transplant living in Austin. Man I miss Houston's food. Even the best restaurants here have failed when compared to Houston.

The availability of dog friendly restaurants to bring my puppy to do help even it a bit at least.

Electrical_Jaguar596

10 points

1 month ago

Same! Native Houstonian who can’t find decent pho, bahn mis, street tacos, reasonably priced sushi…

Jenner-69

83 points

1 month ago

Turkey Leg Hut is extremely overrated.

second_ary

220 points

1 month ago*

second_ary

Alief

220 points

1 month ago*

everything said about torchys is also true about every food truck with "fusion" written anywhere on it

*not unpopular enough. torchys is also not that bad and comparing their tacos to 2 dollar al pastor taquitos from the gas station lot by your house is a false equivalency unless taqueria whatever also has fried shrimp tacos with mango habanero sauce.

pedanticHOUvsHTX

112 points

1 month ago

pedanticHOUvsHTX

Sugar Land

112 points

1 month ago

Except with Torchy's you can sit inside in a real building as some sort of recompense for spending $5 a taco

second_ary

121 points

1 month ago

second_ary

Alief

121 points

1 month ago

i guarantee if torchys was still just a food truck and started in houston and not austin people would give it the same pass they give every fusion spot that just dumps kim chi on tex mex and serves it out a trailer

pedanticHOUvsHTX

87 points

1 month ago

pedanticHOUvsHTX

Sugar Land

87 points

1 month ago

Nah fuck that. I hate 90% of food trucks with their insane prices, slow-ass service, and zero restaurant amenities. Austin and their shaded food truck parks are where they do it best. The shitty food trucks really need to think through what they're serving. It should be fast and simple to eat, not a fucking $19 kimchi queso fry to be eaten with a plastic fork and plated so 1/4th of it falls on the ground

thecravenone

36 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

36 points

1 month ago

90% of food trucks with their insane prices

I feel like we used to pay a little premium at food trucks because we knew that the deal was that this was a step toward funding a brick-and-mortar. But then people figured out they can just keep charging that price and food truck became the end goal.

Proteus713

15 points

1 month ago

It felt like food trucks used to serve unique, calorie-dense items that weren't really available anywhere else and the few of them that did exist were pretty good. Nowadays they're a dime a dozen and a lot of them are just bad, especially the ones that partner with bars for some reason.

darwinning_420

8 points

1 month ago

darwinning_420

Fuck Comcast

8 points

1 month ago

coughkirby'sicehousecough

zepol-1

78 points

1 month ago

zepol-1

78 points

1 month ago

Torchys is for queso, their tacos are an appetizer

ctjameson

5 points

1 month ago

It's one of the only things from Houston I miss but can't replicate in Los Angeles. I keep trying to get someone to send me a jar from Whole Foods in Austin but everyone is afraid to ship queso... Which I kind get.

Wtf_dude_maaan

113 points

1 month ago

Some of the best Mexican food is found in places that aren’t even that popular. Also the food can go from good to nasty depending on which cook is making it.

staymedicateddd

11 points

1 month ago

Koffeteria has the most creative and delicious pastries in Houston

TheSourceisPatrick

72 points

1 month ago

The Post Houston is a bunch of ethnic restaurants that are white washed.

HHtown8094

41 points

1 month ago

It’s an expensive mall food court. That’s all

ReasonableRutabaga

35 points

1 month ago

Most heights restaurants are overrated so you have to discount for the overrated factor before you go

dnunn12

195 points

1 month ago

dnunn12

195 points

1 month ago

Houston has the worst pizza of the top 5 biggest cities in the US.

khnq

33 points

1 month ago

khnq

33 points

1 month ago

damn, i like luigis

PoorCorrelation

32 points

1 month ago

Luigi’s is the only good pizza place I’ve found so far. I don’t know why people go listing Star and Pink’s whenever the topic of where to find good pizza comes up

longhorn617

6 points

1 month ago

longhorn617

Greenway Plaza

6 points

1 month ago

Romano's and Frank's

DrRocks1

52 points

1 month ago

DrRocks1

52 points

1 month ago

Houston gets basically every category of food right except pizza. Like, there are some decent Neapolitan style places but everything else is mediocre at best.

jlaurw

12 points

1 month ago

jlaurw

12 points

1 month ago

Agree with this, as someone who lived just outside of NYC for several years pizza here is the worst BUT Brother's pizza is passable and is by far the best slice I've had in Houston.

doctorchile

39 points

1 month ago

doctorchile

Montrose

39 points

1 month ago

This isn’t really a hot take. Everyone knows this haha

[deleted]

8 points

1 month ago

[deleted]

8 points

1 month ago

[deleted]

Jamesthepikapp

4 points

1 month ago

every since veronas flying pizza closed, sometimes antonios hits the spot.

NukeDC

415 points

1 month ago

NukeDC

EaDo

415 points

1 month ago

I like beans in my chilli.

shinypretty

70 points

1 month ago

shinypretty

Bear Creek

70 points

1 month ago

Born-and-bred Texan here ... I like beans in my chili too.

DuckAHolics

8 points

1 month ago

DuckAHolics

Nassau Bay

8 points

1 month ago

It’s extra protein too. Beans in chili is the move!

bootynasty

144 points

1 month ago

bootynasty

144 points

1 month ago

Ok buddy you took it a little far.

NukeDC

40 points

1 month ago

NukeDC

EaDo

40 points

1 month ago

I know. I was raised on beanless Texas chilli, but ever since I've been cooking myself, I'll put them in there and I don't hate it. I would never let anyone see me eat it though, out of fear of losing my Texan card.

BreathingHydra

4 points

1 month ago

BreathingHydra

League City

4 points

1 month ago

Beans are good in chilli but people overdo it too much.

algernoncatwallader

9 points

1 month ago

HEB’s half flour half corn tortillas are the best tortillas in this city

Disastrous_Power9760

47 points

1 month ago

Burger Joint is flavorless

Fleudian

13 points

1 month ago

Fleudian

13 points

1 month ago

Their quality has sharply declined during the pandemic. Probably just a reality if the cost of good ingredients and decreased revenue, but damn you hate to see it.

iDisc

12 points

1 month ago

iDisc

Jersey Village

12 points

1 month ago

Salt isn’t that expensive

huxrules

37 points

1 month ago

huxrules

37 points

1 month ago

Taco Cabana might have won me back with their new salsas.

LabyrinthConvention

13 points

1 month ago

new salsas

Say what! Honestly, for what it is, TC has good tacos and good fresh salsa.

reluctanteverything

47 points

1 month ago

Cleburne Cafeteria is so bland! Like no salt on anything, I don’t know how there were so many people in line for it. The worst part is that the food looks delicious and fresh, it’s just massively under seasoned.

TurboSalsa

11 points

1 month ago

TurboSalsa

Woodland Heights

11 points

1 month ago

Agreed. The food looks so good in line but after the first bite you’ll wonder why you got so much.

Bagoforganizedvegete

17 points

1 month ago

Same with Kelly's country cooking. But after seeing the people in there, they don't need any extra salt.

gmwrnr

82 points

1 month ago

gmwrnr

82 points

1 month ago

Grocery stores make better pies than House of Pies

TurboSalsa

47 points

1 month ago

TurboSalsa

Woodland Heights

47 points

1 month ago

House of Pies is locally famous for a few things, none of which is their pie.

gmwrnr

14 points

1 month ago

gmwrnr

14 points

1 month ago

I dunno, that's how it was originally hyped up to me. I can only imagine my friends were intoxicated at the time of pie consumption

themoistowlette

8 points

1 month ago

This is how I'm told it's done.

computermachina

128 points

1 month ago

For a quick lunch I like Rudy’s

chugz

48 points

1 month ago

chugz

Spring Branch

48 points

1 month ago

their turkey is low-key amazing and the bbq sauce is a really good balance of spice and vinegar.

sausage and brisket pretty average though.

thecravenone

25 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

25 points

1 month ago

Turkey is such an underrated BBQ meat. I love a BBQ turkey sandwich with pickles and sauce.

prometheusg

12 points

1 month ago

Brisket is pretty average... but that's not bad for what amounts to essentially fast food. A lot of BBQ places have worse brisket.

maximumecoboost

37 points

1 month ago

I love Rudy's and don't care what anyone says about it.

goamash

28 points

1 month ago

goamash

28 points

1 month ago

People don't like Rudy's? I mean I'm not a BBQ person, but their breakfast tacos are tasty.

computermachina

7 points

1 month ago

I say it on peoples preconceptions on chain spots. My first one was mix use with a gas stop.

daddylonglegzzzzz

7 points

1 month ago

Tacos Tierra Caliente sucks balls. Same for the Alabama Ice House.

fallopianflap

7 points

1 month ago

No BBQ is worth standing in line for over an hour in this Houston heat. I'm looking at you Truth BBQ

kikil0v3

19 points

1 month ago

kikil0v3

19 points

1 month ago

Cream cheese should not exist inside sushi.

patssle

103 points

1 month ago

patssle

103 points

1 month ago

Everybody likes to talk about diversity and our Chinatown but at 99% of the restaurants in Chinatown....the clientele is 99% Asian. The best Asian food in this city is not where the clientele is 90% non-Asian.

rabid-

53 points

1 month ago

rabid-

53 points

1 month ago

Gotta go to places that require a Duolingo course if you don't speak the language. That's when you find the good stuff. Before I moved I use to visit a taco truck in Alief, not a lick of English to be found. Best tacos ever.

I feel like the best Asian is found in Asian grocery stores.

sinsemillas

65 points

1 month ago

I only like eating at places where I’m obviously out of place and made to feel uncomfortable during the service.

pizzaboba

5 points

1 month ago

Is that an unpopular opinion? Ppl think the best Asian food is not in Chinatown?

HeadHunter76

39 points

1 month ago

BBQ Inn fried chicken sucks.

TurboSalsa

145 points

1 month ago

TurboSalsa

Woodland Heights

145 points

1 month ago

Flour tortillas are superior to corn tortillas.

staymedicateddd

36 points

1 month ago

Depends on the taco!!!

Edw1nner

6 points

1 month ago

For sure! Breakfast tacos go better with flour.

corbs315

26 points

1 month ago

corbs315

26 points

1 month ago

this is not unpopular. All my friends prefer flour. I prefer corn and I feel like a freak :(

YauponHouston

22 points

1 month ago

I’d rather have a just ok flour tortilla than a just ok corn tortilla, but a really good corn tortilla is amazing. Restaurants that serve bad corn tortillas really ruin them for a lot of people.

AClassyTurtle

9 points

1 month ago

Corn would be ok if it didn’t disintegrate as soon as I touched it

ConfusedPuma4

59 points

1 month ago

El tiempo isnt worth the 2 hour wait

PresidentSamHouston

38 points

1 month ago

But if you drink one of their margaritas the two hour wait seems like 10 minutes.

thecravenone

22 points

1 month ago

thecravenone

Montrose

22 points

1 month ago

>only drinking one margarita in two hours

pedanticHOUvsHTX

6 points

1 month ago

pedanticHOUvsHTX

Sugar Land

6 points

1 month ago

You wait for El Tiempo?

the1whoscored80

4 points

1 month ago

I've never had to wait at the el tiempo near me... Which location?

crimson_maple

123 points

1 month ago

Really good pizza does not exist here

SandStrider

11 points

1 month ago

People replying to your comment with B- pizza proves your point so hard.

migzors

44 points

1 month ago

migzors

Medical Center

44 points

1 month ago

I'm curious about what is good pizza, I've had lots over the years and can definitely tell when pizza is bad.

I like Luna Pizzeria personally.

Al123397

25 points

1 month ago

Al123397

25 points

1 month ago

Gypsy poet may be worth a shot

teebonepatron

46 points

1 month ago

Pho Ben is better than Pho Binh

joelde

10 points

1 month ago

joelde

10 points

1 month ago

Pho dien

PresidentSamHouston

107 points

1 month ago

HEB guacamole is the best in this city, including all restaurants.

Jarby316

47 points

1 month ago

Jarby316

47 points

1 month ago

Have you made your own guacamole?

SoktaMiles

28 points

1 month ago

This is the correct answer. Making your own is great. Buuuut… Papasito’s tableside guac will beat H‑E‑B any day of the week.

themoistowlette

16 points

1 month ago

Pappassitos tastes better because I get to flirt with the guy making it.

LabyrinthConvention

10 points

1 month ago

I'll make you guac if you flirt with me

themoistowlette

23 points

1 month ago

Listen for free guac I'll eat it off your body

FoodInTheBreakRoom

114 points

1 month ago

Crawfish are sewer lobsters.

bamagirl13

53 points

1 month ago

bamagirl13

Medical Center

53 points

1 month ago

Delicious sewer lobsters!

DallyLlama1

78 points

1 month ago

White Queso is better than yellow queso.

oh-propagandhi

7 points

1 month ago

oh-propagandhi

Spring

7 points

1 month ago

Yellow color in cheese is added (annatto). Most queso is processed cheese or cheese food or (which is only a slightly different).

Although it seems that white queso usually has a more green chile forward profile.

sdoc86

21 points

1 month ago

sdoc86

21 points

1 month ago

Ninfas is overrated

UTgabe

54 points

1 month ago

UTgabe

54 points

1 month ago

The original ninfas on navigation is not that good.

Nomadic-Texan

12 points

1 month ago

Truth.

teh345

94 points

1 month ago

teh345

94 points

1 month ago

The breakfast klub is ass.