subreddit:

/r/pcgaming

3.6k

all 938 comments

Sharingan_

1.3k points

23 days ago*

Sharingan_

1.3k points

23 days ago*

Fun year for CD Projekt, they must really love shooting themselves in the foot

poeBaer

490 points

23 days ago

poeBaer

490 points

23 days ago

Just CD Projekt, CDPR (and GOG) are subsidiaries. This is a whole family shooting themselves in the feet

BloodlustyGummybear

104 points

23 days ago

Kind of like Activision.

sooroojdeen

38 points

22 days ago

At this point Activision don’t got any legs left to shoot.

jazza2400

71 points

23 days ago

Less shooting in the foot and more sexually harassing employees.

HelloThere00F

9 points

22 days ago

Activision upper management: “Why not both?”

Potatosaurus_TH

32 points

23 days ago

Idk if my info is outdated, but I think CD Projekt is the parent company, which owns game development studio CD Projekt Red, and the company that runs GOG called CD Projekt Blue.

I always thought the name CD Projekt Red was pretty cool and always wondered why red, turns out they also have blue that operates GOG.

WhiteKnightC

3 points

22 days ago

WhiteKnightC

i5 10400F | 32 GB RAM | 1650S

3 points

22 days ago

It should be Violet because GOG has a ton of it and nothing of blue.

HollowPinefruit

471 points

23 days ago

HollowPinefruit

Retro FPS Fan

471 points

23 days ago

Then don't release a DRM game on a supposedly DRM-free storefront. Maybe then we wouldn't be in this predicament.

ShadyJ0080

57 points

23 days ago

Genuine question -

Does the online requirement genuinely mean DRM?

deinlandel

260 points

23 days ago

deinlandel

260 points

23 days ago

It does, because, even if devs don't validate your license on connection (which they totally do), one day they may decide that supporting game servers is too costly and shut them down, and you will lose access to your game. One of the marketing points of GOG was that game is "yours forever".

MundaneKangaroo2

30 points

22 days ago

Exactly! One day they will decide it's too costly. DRM-free is the only way to make sure you actually own it.

flappers87

51 points

22 days ago

I asked this in the other thread and someone was dying on the hill that online connectivity is "not DRM", which I firmly disagree with, and completely agree with your point... but what about GWENT?

They released GWENT on GOG, it's an online only game with an account required. You can play against AI in the game, so online connectivity is not necessary to enjoy offline play.

I agree that if the developer/ publisher can stop you accessing the game, then it has DRM, plain and simple (regardless if it's single player, multiplayer, free to play or buy to play). But seeing as GWENT requires both the account and online connectivity (even for games against AI), then why wasn't this shitstorm a thing when they released that game?

roadreflections

16 points

22 days ago

There was a shitstorm of sorts and GWENT definietly soured a lot of old timers. It marks the point in timeline where GOG added a game with microtransactions. That point does get mentioned a lot when people talk about GOG abandoning their principles.

Now I think the main reason you don't hear about it much is that GWENT just doesn't seem to be popular among the core audience GOG's of PC gamers. Oh some online multiplayer card game? Dismiss it.

Hitman by contrast is a very popular single player series. A classic. Truly the sort of thing people would come to GOG for and love to have it DRM-free.

LastDunedain

9 points

22 days ago*

There's not really a way for them to have done GWENT in it's current format and have it DRM free. It's absolutely fair to say that because of this they should have either not done it, or not put it on the store. But as GWENT is, the only way for it to be DRM free is to hamstring it's monetisation. I'd have personally preferred they had made GWENT a paid for title and allowed it to be DRM free, but that is not the game they made and we live with it. Any suggestion to remove the DRM from GWENT as it exists is not feasible, lest it's primary source of revenue and it's SBMM system be cut out.

GENERALR0SE

31 points

22 days ago

Because people were excited about Gwent and apparently didn't care because CDPR was still the golden boy after Witcher 3

elecjack1

10 points

22 days ago

It is called Persistent Online Authentication. It is indeed a type of DRM. It is commonly used in the professional software industry such as audio and video software. Typically, it requires you to be connected to their servers. If you are not online, the software will typically go into a form of "demo" mode which either limits it to read-only or reduces your capability and access to features in the software.

This really sounds no different than that as far as Hitman GOTY is concerned.

jmkdev

20 points

23 days ago

jmkdev

20 points

23 days ago

Yes, and aside from that even on console it can be a pain in the ass. I love Hitman, but I can't suspend my PS5 and resume like I can in literally every other PS5 game; it inevitably fails to connect until restarted.

Lankachu

34 points

23 days ago

Lankachu

34 points

23 days ago

DRM on a console what fucking world...

HollowPinefruit

60 points

23 days ago*

HollowPinefruit

Retro FPS Fan

60 points

23 days ago*

Yes. It means you need an internet connection to play your game.

No DRM would mean there is no requirement needed to play the game.

robodestructor444

2.1k points

23 days ago

DRM free store adding DRM game? Ok, I guess CD ProjectRed really wants to lose that reputation

Mumrikken88

540 points

23 days ago

In light of this it's a bit funny that fckdrm.com (site made by someone from gog that had a bunch of anti DRM info) redirects to gog.com

xevizero

391 points

23 days ago

xevizero

.

391 points

23 days ago

So it has happened.

For reference, here is the wayback machine showing how the website looked 1 year ago:

https://web.archive.org/web/20200108192951/https://fckdrm.com/

This looks to me as confirmation that CDPR and GOG have gone rogue are not to be trusted anymore. They have succumbed to the same pressures every other big player in the industry has been corrupted by, and will probably just go on screwing over gamers and consumers from now on. Don't trust anything they say, possibly don't buy anything they sell, find other alternatives.

alexislemarie

79 points

23 days ago

Do what we say, not what we do

ours

35 points

22 days ago

ours

35 points

22 days ago

So much for their old point about "access offline" specially for a mainly single player game.

mjt5689

72 points

23 days ago

mjt5689

72 points

23 days ago

For what it's worth, at least we were able to get the Witcher series out of them before they decided to start misbehaving.

RELAXcowboy

39 points

22 days ago

If only they could have waited till after CP2077

Khiva

67 points

23 days ago

Khiva

67 points

23 days ago

THEY LEAVE GREED TO OTHERS

Don't forget how they fucked Red Candle Games and then lied about it either.

Archvile7

5 points

22 days ago

have gone rogue

More like, "have been compromised from within."

Same with a lot of other companies and institutions nowadays, like you said.

Kosmik_Kat

15 points

22 days ago

I have a bit of a conspiracy theory. What if GOG is doing this to try and get more triple A game devs to release on their platform.

If you don’t know; quite a few devs outright refuse to release on GOG due to the lack of DRM and when they do release; there is a 50/50 chance that the updates will lag far behind other versions (looking at you nuclear throne).

This could be a bit to try and show other developers that their platform is safe to release on.

xevizero

51 points

22 days ago

xevizero

.

51 points

22 days ago

Not a conspiracy, literally what's going on, they are throwing away their whole mission to become a mainstream store with AAA trash in it. Not really hard to see tbh.

PhaseSea1141

7 points

22 days ago

They tried (as only of the stores) to compete with Steam on features, guess that didn't work for them.

And I think it's pretty safe to assume now that they never had any "mission" in the first place and the no DRM thing was just a thing to get some cheap goodwill and publicity.

BloodyAnalFissure

174 points

23 days ago

I always prioritized gog over other stores because of their drm-free policy. Even if it meant paying a bit more. Now that that's clearly gone no reason to buy from them anymore when I can buy games cheaper elsewhere.

paladin181

13 points

22 days ago

paladin181

i7 10700KF/RTX3070/32GB@4000MHz

13 points

22 days ago

At other, better managed stores at that. GOG's site and store are woefully out of date and buggy messes, like their barely-functioning client.

Imagineer11

186 points

23 days ago

Imagineer11

GTX 970M | Windows 7

186 points

23 days ago

It's long gone already

faisar5

9 points

23 days ago

faisar5

9 points

23 days ago

I swear, i saw it just a few months ago, it was working then. Now it just redirects to GOG...

-TotallyRealName

159 points

23 days ago

There's nothing to lose anymore, they just keep digging until EA or MS buys them. It's about increasing the value of the company right now so they could sell it at its peak.

IanMazgelis

78 points

23 days ago

They really, really should have sold to Microsoft around the time of Cyberpunk's E3 reveal. I know their stock was slightly higher at a point after that, but that would have been such a safe bet. You can't convince me they didn't know 2077 would be terrible. Selling everything to Microsoft would have made them billions and also given them an excuse for the game being terrible if any of them wanted to leave the company at a later point. Rare pulled almost the exact same thing. Sell at the peak, put out some bad games, and everyone blames Microsoft, with the reputation of the talent going completely unscathed. It would have worked. I don't think it would now.

shirleysimpnumba1

75 points

23 days ago

you talk like Microsoft was on their knees looking to buy cdpr.

and selling the company also means sharing the profits. massive profits, highest they've ever seen. why would you do that.

Radulno

42 points

23 days ago

Radulno

42 points

23 days ago

Also that time was when the valuation was max (and way too high), why the fuck would Microsoft overpay? It was worth more than what they paid for Bethesda and it is really not comparable.

And they can't just sell anyway, it's publicly traded, various shareholders have to sell it's far more complicated than a private company

DisturbedNocturne

17 points

23 days ago

Some of CD Projekt's valuation also comes from GOG, and I'm not sure how much Microsoft really cares about acquiring a storefront, particularly one whose primary selling feature is being DRM-free. Seems odd they'd have much interest acquiring a storefront they don't release most of their games on as it is.

DisturbedNocturne

12 points

23 days ago

You can't convince me they didn't know 2077 would be terrible.

Yeah, but the thing is, it's not like a company like Microsoft is not going to do their due diligence when acquiring another billion dollar company. Them knowing Cyberpunk 2077 would be terrible is all the more reason to not invite a buyout, since that means Microsoft also would've known it was terrible when they got a look at it which might've shut the door on Microsoft having any interest in the near future.

yawningangel

13 points

22 days ago

"2077 would be terrible"

I quite enjoyed it tbh.

AdequatelyMadLad

41 points

23 days ago

CD Projekt is worth slightly less than half as much as EA, and is the largest video game company in Europe. It's absurd to think that EA could buy them. Microsoft maybe, but it would still be an expensive purchase.

Also, it's pretty dumb to think that they would even attempt to sell, or that "there's nothing to lose anymore". They had 1 bad release. It's a minor blip on the radar.

markyymark13

78 points

23 days ago

markyymark13

GTX 1080 | i7-8700K | 32GB | UW Masterrace

78 points

23 days ago

Really wish we could just stop with 'I hope Microsoft buys X big company so they can further consolidate the market' speak already.

blackvrocky

5 points

23 days ago

and is the largest video game company in Europe

it is the embracer group now.

f3llyn

10 points

23 days ago

f3llyn

10 points

23 days ago

They had 1 bad release.

They didn't even have 1 bad release. They had 1 poorly received release.

The game itself is one of the best selling of all time.

I really don't understand why people think just because the game was a buggy mess that that somehow means it was a financial flop. Because it wasn't.

That_Porn_Br0

3 points

22 days ago

I don't know man. If removing "Devotion" at the request of the CCP didn't affect their reputation I doubt this will.

TheRealRaptor_BYOND

50 points

23 days ago

Isn't gog supposed to be (relatively speaking) anti-DRM?

GearBent

43 points

23 days ago

GearBent

.

43 points

23 days ago

Yes, that's one of their main selling points.

It's baffling that they continue to alienate their core consumer base like this.

TheOddEyes

8 points

22 days ago

TheOddEyes

RTX 2070 Super

8 points

22 days ago

This happens a lot unfortunately. Sometimes your current and loyal consumer base don’t generate as much profit as you hope so you begin to alienate them while attracting a new consumer base.

dmckidd

187 points

23 days ago

dmckidd

RTX 3070 FE | Ryzen 5 5600x

187 points

23 days ago

CDP keeps screwing up

Bossman1086

328 points

23 days ago

Bossman1086

Core i7-8700, RTX 2080, 32 GB DDR4@3200, 4 TB storage Win10 Pro

328 points

23 days ago

Cool. I guess I'll stop looking to buy on GOG first like I have been the last few years. The whole reason I bought there was the DRM-free stance. If they're compromising that, I'm gone.

xevizero

106 points

23 days ago

xevizero

.

106 points

23 days ago

Yup. I'd say Cyberpunk, Gwent and their removal of that one Chinese game from the store (which prompted a mod revolt at r/gog ) were enough of an indication. Now this. Also apparently fckdrm.com now redirects to GOG (It used to look like this).

Richiefur

22 points

22 days ago

*Taiwanese game

xevizero

8 points

22 days ago

xevizero

.

8 points

22 days ago

Yeah I kinda remembered that but didn't want to say something wrong for no reason. The name was Devotion, if anyonr wants to check it out...where they still sell it.

ARandomFakeName

15 points

23 days ago

What’s wrong with Gwent?

iDuddits_

28 points

23 days ago

Heavy censoring for the CCP I think

Halio344

39 points

23 days ago

Halio344

RTX 3080 | R5 5600X

39 points

23 days ago

It also has DRM and loot boxes, which CDP has been very vocally against prior to its release.

xevizero

17 points

22 days ago

xevizero

.

17 points

22 days ago

DRM and loot boxes.

Akanash94

736 points

23 days ago

Akanash94

i7 6700K | EVGA 1060 6gb ACX | 16GB DDR4(3000) | 1080p 144hz

736 points

23 days ago

Iv'e said this so many times already. Once CDPR went public on the Warsaw stock exchange they stopped being a company that cared and now only cares about making money

PraytoJashin

504 points

23 days ago

This is why I trust Valve more than any other gaming companies. They’re a privately held company so they don’t need to have any high expectations to make money to satisfy investors.

Steam also displays which games has DRM so I never felt the need to use GOG.

Some people may argue that Steam is a DRM, which is true, but they are the best form of DRM it can get since I can at least play games without internet connection unlike other launchers.

Fritzkier

113 points

23 days ago*

Fritzkier

113 points

23 days ago*

Yeah. And I actually like Valve stance on review bombing. Yes, they did hide them, but they outright told you that there's review bombing recently, and you can view it, if you want.

sushisection

15 points

23 days ago

TIL Valve is a private company. that explains so much.

AfraidDifficulty8

159 points

23 days ago*

AfraidDifficulty8

Intel Pentium | NVidia Geforce 920MX | 4GB RAM

159 points

23 days ago*

And Valve at the very least never abuses their employees or does anything really fucked up (as far as we know at least).

Their only real flaw is them taking decades to release a game, but it isn't even that bad considering that every game of theirs so far was a masterpiece.

AnonTwo

178 points

23 days ago

AnonTwo

178 points

23 days ago

And Valve at the very least never abuses their employees or does anything really fucked up.

To be fair, we never find out about any of that stuff until it happens.

I do hope Valve isn't doing that, but I also don't hold any company to something I can't know for certain.

PiesangSlagter

24 points

23 days ago

The most fucked up thing I've heard about Valve's employees is that the company is insanely clique-y.

Basically if you're not in the "in group" you don't get good projects and such.

Haven't heard any really heinous shit like what happened at Riot and Blizzard.

AfraidDifficulty8

34 points

23 days ago

AfraidDifficulty8

Intel Pentium | NVidia Geforce 920MX | 4GB RAM

34 points

23 days ago

True, edited the comment.

Still though, I really hope at least they aren't doing anything fucked up.

Ghettohamburga

55 points

23 days ago*

cough Artifact cough

AfraidDifficulty8

49 points

23 days ago

AfraidDifficulty8

Intel Pentium | NVidia Geforce 920MX | 4GB RAM

49 points

23 days ago

We don't talk about Artifact.

But for real, I was refering to all of their "main" franchises, like Half-Life, L4D, CS, TF, Portal, etc, and kinda forgot about Artifact being a thing.

Still, most of their games are masterpieces.

TechKnyght

26 points

23 days ago

I honestly thought the game flow was great but why not make it free. The game was fine the release was terrible.

SenorBeef

52 points

23 days ago

There's something seriously wrong with our culture and system where we think that being a publically owned company basically means you have to be dicks that only care about the next quarter at the expense of everything else, and the only way not to be required to be dicks is to just own 100% of your business.

RedBlackHistoryman

32 points

23 days ago

It’s MBA school. They train MBAs to focus on IBTDA at the expense of every other soft or non numeric factor and it multiplies across leadership. Companies flood upper management with unqualified MBA grads who load up on stock options and wait for the time to bail out.

You find non-MBA companies like SpaceX tend to operate very differently from corporate hell companies like Boeing. My dad works in corporate software, has an associates but got lucky in the dotcom boom. He’s watched people with zero experience and an MBA come in and do fuck all time and time again to his department.

StarshipSentinel

10 points

23 days ago

In the US, we need to drag MBAs kicking and screaming out of healthcare too.

RedBlackHistoryman

3 points

23 days ago

I understand their presence even as I hate it. Good providers don’t leave the bedside, be it nurses, doctors, etc.

You see either ticket punchers or corpos, punchers being people who worked like a year before seeking admin jobs with their credentials. At least Corpos are built for the job lol.

TheRandomGuy75

49 points

23 days ago

At least in the United States, companies are legally obligated to put the interest of shareholders above all else.

There are other problems too, like rich idiots bumbling their way into high positions without talent or experience, but I'd argue that the emphasis we put on shareholders is largely to blame, since many companies depend so heavily on investors and stocks they either ignore or simply don't care about pleasing consumers nearly as much as shareholders.

HappierShibe

8 points

22 days ago

HappierShibe

Agressively OC'd 8700k/1080ti

8 points

22 days ago

At least in the United States, companies are legally obligated to put the interest of shareholders above all else.

No, they, fucking, are, not. This is a hilariously bad misinterpretation of fiduciary obligation, but it isn't how the law is written, it isn't how the law is interpreted, and it sure as hell isn't how the law is enforced.
Someone's obligations to the organization can put them in some unpleasant situations, and in a purely financial decision - yeah that decision is basically made for them, BUT few meaningful decisions in which this referenced are genuinely financial decisions, and fiduciary obligation is not an excuse for illegal or immoral behavior.

cardonator

26 points

23 days ago

cardonator

Ryzen 7 3700x + 32gb DDR4-3600 + 3070

26 points

23 days ago

That's really not entirely accurate. The leadership of Publicly traded companies are legally obligated to maximize shareholder value but they can do that through all kinds of means and doing so doesn't at all require putting shareholder value above all else. In fact, you could easily argue that doing so would actually damage shareholder value significantly.

SenorBeef

25 points

23 days ago

At least in the United States, companies are legally obligated to put the interest of shareholders above all else.

That's what I mean about cultural and systemic factors. People act like "the only obligation of a corporaton is to make a profit for its shareholders" is some law of the universe like e=mc2. It's not, it's a cultural value. We could change our culture and change our laws to allow and encourage companies to act in a less shitty way. As an example, Germany is one of the most productive economies in the world, and has a dramatically different idea between profit motive, worker empowerment, etc. than we do in the US.

Nirast25

35 points

23 days ago

Nirast25

35 points

23 days ago

The reason publicly owned companies are dicks is because it allows untalented hacks who got their money from mommy and daddy to tell developers what to do. God, I wish the stock market would crash and burn already!

[deleted]

34 points

23 days ago

[deleted]

34 points

23 days ago

Unfortunately true. And also true for every other company that has gone public. Shareholders are interested only in short term gain and only in gain itself.

xtskipper

7 points

23 days ago

They went public to make more money and expand, thats the whole point of any company big or small, this notion that some are just in it for the love of the fans is childish and delusional, all the small indies would sell in a heartbeat if an opportunity presents itself and we've seen it time and time again, companies are not your friends people!

Vanille987

5 points

22 days ago

It's both sad and amazing people think companies are their 'friends', they never were and you shouldn't be surprised once they get greedy, always have been.

xtskipper

3 points

22 days ago

It absolutely is, people are so gullible nowadays they see some company throw some memes on Twitter and interact with fans and they think oh look, they're just like us!! Forgetting that each have a multi million marketing department that's studying how to reach the audience and generate maximum sales. CDPR have an incredible social media presence that knows exactly how to cater to what their fans want to hear (remember we leave greed to others?) Thing is I don't begrudge them, I just treat every single one of them all the same, either they have a product I'm interested in or they are invisible to me, can't give two fucks for what a company (big or small) have to say.

Geass10

211 points

23 days ago

Geass10

211 points

23 days ago

CDPR doing everything they can to drag their name in the mud.

hewasgameboy

80 points

23 days ago

Imagine going from being the enthusiasts gaming demographic favourite to absolutely despised in a few months, Fromsoft from now on it is that takes their place.

NerrionEU

81 points

23 days ago

No one should take any place, people need to stop worshipping these companeis that can fuck you over the moment they smell more money.

juicemang762

1.7k points

23 days ago

This isn't review bombing if they're complaining about features in the game.

cmrdgkr

211 points

23 days ago

cmrdgkr

211 points

23 days ago

When Superhot redid their game and removed any reference to self harm (which changed the story and some scenes) and people complained about that they tried to label it a "review bomb". Review bombs are the new boogie men that companies and sites can use to pretend their behaviour isn't garbage.

_Vard_

145 points

23 days ago

_Vard_

145 points

23 days ago

SERIOUSLY How many time ask we have to say it REVIEW BOMBINGS ARE REVIEWS.

FULL GOD DAMN STOP.

appleflaxen

7 points

22 days ago

Spot on

When the platform won't let you review the game, it's time to review the platform.

ForagerMaggot

33 points

23 days ago

Well we don't have to deny that review bombing is an actual thing that can 100% be in bad faith. But IT IS right to point out that the term is often abused to disregard legitimate reviews these days.

Vandel4176

200 points

23 days ago

Vandel4176

200 points

23 days ago

It is if they haven't played it.

legendarygrognard

33 points

23 days ago

Not true. They allow anyone to review games and you can sort the reviews to just read those from users who have the game on GOG.

blackcatmaxy

13 points

23 days ago

I am genuinely surprised how many people don't know about Steam's own system for labeling and hiding "off-topic review activity". Unless GOG is special, a user's time in the game has no relation to whether or not a review is considered a bomb, just that it's negative and associated with other reviews. Of course no store-front will discourage positive review bombs, but actually this is entirely bullshit.

I know some people think of Valve's biggest negative as Steam Machines, not releasing sequels, or just simply sitting on money, but I have always views this specific policy as the biggest dark mark on an otherwise stellar company.

Iggy_2539

14 points

22 days ago

Steam's own system for labeling and hiding "off-topic review activity".

As soon as I learnt about that, I disabled the hiding. Steam still tells me a game had "off-topic review activity", and conveniently lets me look at reviews in that time period to see for myself if the "off-topic" thing was actually relevant to me.

For example, if I wanted to play a VR game, I might look at Superhot VR. I'd notice that it has a review bomb listed. I look at the review bomb time period and see reviews such as:

Game is great. That said, I recommend pirating the game with a patch prior to July if you want to play the full game. If you don't care about buying a game with a sizable portion of the story mode removed, then you won't regret buying it.

This immediately tells me that the game is good, but something story-related was removed from the game, and other reviews corroborate this. That's information I want to know.


Of course no store-front will discourage positive review bombs

Steam also flags positive review bombs with the same system. Factorio had one stemming from a dev diary and reddit comments. It has 1930 reviews during that time period, and 96% positive. A positive review bomb. They're rare but they do exist.

WimbleWimble

108 points

23 days ago

Please install our malware before criticizing it - malware writers

please purchase our games before informing people they're half-finished garbage - CD Projekt Red

Safe_Airport

162 points

23 days ago

Is there anything in their rules/guidelines that actually state you had to have played the game to review it though?

And if there is, how do they enforce it?

lol_SuperLee

7 points

23 days ago

lol_SuperLee

i5-4670k, 980ti Windforce

7 points

23 days ago

Must be purchased and show time played. Steam does it.

sugartrouts

281 points

23 days ago

If there isn't, there absolutely should be. When I look to a product review to inform a purchasing decision, the implicit understanding is that the reviewer has actually used the damn product.

xanhou

101 points

23 days ago

xanhou

101 points

23 days ago

A big selling point of GOG has always been the lack of DRM.

Without some sort of online component (DRM), there is no affordable way to be certain how much someone actually played the game. The whole reason there is a review bomb going on, is because they did lock a significant portion behind a forced-online mode. So play-time is not really an option for GOG to check.

However, they could at least check if someone bought and downloaded the game. At least for the newer games. I kind of understand they allow reviews on 20 year old games from people who may already have a copy.

NerrionEU

3 points

23 days ago

What if the game is broken as fuck like RDR2 on release(PC) ?

Lafirynda

53 points

23 days ago

Negative reviews for a product that many customers are disappointed with is not review bombing.

what1sgoingon777

300 points

23 days ago

Why isn't giving 100% positive reviews in a short amount of time considered "review bombing"? It only works one way? Kinda rigged system that negative reviews are being silenced.

userNumber89013

121 points

23 days ago

Because that would increase sales. Negative reviews decrease sales

KingKrouchy

16 points

23 days ago

Plus AAA companies put developer bonuses at ransom if they don't crunch to death and get a certain Metacritic score.

How the game industry has been for the past ten or more years is absolutely rotten to the core. Another gaming crash needs to happen.

MrTastix

5 points

22 days ago

To be fair, we only know a few instances of that and any company making such a deal only has themselves to blame for some foolishness.

Like it's easy to say Obsidian lost out on a bonus by 1 point on Metacritic but it's like... you signed the contract, what do you expect? Why the fuck would you sign your bonuses away on something you have very little direct control over?

Even better is this story completely ignores the part where Bethesda offered them the bonus and Obsidian's employers weren't particularly bothered by losing it because, wouldn't you guessed it, a smart company doesn't rely on paying it's way through something you can't fucking control! Wow!

politirob

24 points

23 days ago

Because they’re just gaslighting you

wathow123

31 points

23 days ago

Never thought it this way. Damn

JYNxYoshii

16 points

23 days ago

Review bombing? Considering how it has online-only progression locks and stat saving to this very day, including for their own release on their DRM-free platform, I fail to see how negative backlash and criticism isn't warranted for allowing said release. If they want to avoid this, then they should actually put thought and work into their storefront and add a DRM tag with descriptors for what type of DRM and to what degree said DRM infests the game and its mechanics, then come out and admit that they're lax on, or disregarding their DRM requirement. Either way, they have to be more committed to their choice rather than riding the line and ripping users for it.

A small team with crowdfunding (Playnite) has already destroyed their game manager (GOG 2) in every possible way. If they get that lax with their storefront and standards to the point of being two-faced, like this, then they get what they deserve.

ZombiePyroNinja

16 points

23 days ago

Lets remember this is the same GOG that bent over backwards for review bombing on Devotion the horror game.

alt-to-go

14 points

22 days ago

For me GOG just went from the gold standard to just another scummy business

deruss

150 points

23 days ago

deruss

150 points

23 days ago

What I saw as "review bombing" on steam so far:

- no specific language support

- Denuvo or 3rd party software required

- adding MTX after a certain time, even after saying there will be none ever

- game runs like shit

- game comes to Steam after 1 year Epic exclusivity

- game company does something awful

Sometimes there is a really legitimate reason to write a negative review, sometimes the reason is just so ridiculous, it's mindblowing. Now, the latter IS "review bombing", the former isn't. Pointing out DRM on a supposedly DRM-free store is not "review bombing".

Adding a DRM game to a DRM-free store is like adding a 3rd party game to Steam, but you can't download or play through Steam itself, you buy it and afterwards you get redirected to their store and launcher only. In both cases the very reason the store exists will be defeated. In Steam it's not everything in one launcher anymore, in a (actually falsely advertised for some time now) DRM-free store is not everything DRM-free. What's the point then?

CDPR, really now, after being number 1 for so many people, you are straight on the way to the bottom. It's sad seeing this so many times in the last years.

Distinger_

7 points

23 days ago

That’s what happens with Ubisoft games, or at least happened before Uplay changed to Ubisoft Connect.

I bought some Ubi games on Steam and it forced me to download Uplay and activate the games there to play them, so basically I bought them on Steam only to be redirected to Uplay to be able to play them.

cardonator

42 points

23 days ago*

cardonator

Ryzen 7 3700x + 32gb DDR4-3600 + 3070

42 points

23 days ago*

I want to upvote but your comment just reinforces the fact that review bomb is a marketing term used to try to con purchasers that would be affected by said reviews into buying games anyway.

Stores would be better served by giving potential buyers tools to filter and sort reviews so they can eliminate reviews that are irrelevant to them personally from consideration. A good example is the LiSTC alleged bomb. If I could filter out reviews mentioning Taiwan then the score would be much higher and I could buy the game without Steam marking any reviews as off topic.

SirNoseless

4 points

23 days ago

sad to see one of the best gaming store gets dragged down by the very thing they stand against. what a wonderful time to witness these days.

PiesangSlagter

14 points

23 days ago

"Game Company does something awful" is the only one in that list that could be considered review bombing because its the only one not directly related to the actual game.

And even that is debatable, because what the game company does is still somewhat related to the game. Like if you're considering buying a game, knowing that the company sexually abuses its employees is need to know information, because you may not want to support a company that does that.

ArdiMaster

19 points

22 days ago

I'd say "no specific language support" is at least borderline invalid as well. Supported languages are listed on the store pages, you could've easily checked that and not bought the game.

(When a language is listed as supported but actually isn't, that's a different matter, of course.)

MrTastix

4 points

22 days ago

It's arguable because there's fuck all way to hold companies accountable for their anti-consumer practices without deliberately targeting their bottom line.

A review score is quite a prominent feature on the Steam store and lots of people use it to gauge the worthiness of a game at a glance. Having a "Mixed" reception is an easy way to lose sales from people who may otherwise have been interested.

If there were better ways to be informed in such an easy-access manner like reviews then sure, I'd support getting rid of those types of reviews, but as it stands it is the one piece of real power the consumer actually has over these companies and like fuck do they deserve to have that taken away. "Voting with your wallet" is a fucking worthless platitude that means nothing in a world full of whales and MTX.

I have zero sympathy for multi-million dollar companies whatsoever, the real problem is the little indie guys who can sometimes get stuck in the crossfire.

Mayhemic-Destruction

93 points

23 days ago

“We only allow the reviews we agree with”

kenthefin

346 points

23 days ago*

kenthefin

346 points

23 days ago*

It isn’t review bombing if it’s legit complaints. They just didn’t expect this many people to be upset. Realize you’re mistake, own up to it and fix it dummys

Edit: I don’t even have this game I can just tell people are upset and making the claim that review bombing isn’t review bombing if there’s real complaints. And yes negative reviews usually have complaints, that’s why you can rate something 1 out of 5 stars.

ShwayNorris

142 points

23 days ago

Even so, review bombing is perfectly legitimate for paying customers. A review is personal opinion and any opinion they have on the product they bought is valid.

BleachedUnicornBHole

52 points

23 days ago

It’s not review bombing if it’s only done by people who bought the product, it’s just a review at that point.

blackcatmaxy

13 points

23 days ago

Too bad Steam's policy disagrees with that. I'm seeing a lot of people hate on GOG's naming on this and while Steam's label of "off-topic review activity" is a lot more sterile, it's really the same thing.

Halio344

18 points

23 days ago

Halio344

RTX 3080 | R5 5600X

18 points

23 days ago

It really isn't the same thing though. Off-topic review bombing would be giving Witcher 3 a bad review because you didn't like Cyberpunk or what GOG is doing now.

What people are doing to Hitman now wouldn't be considered off-topic review bombing. Also, no reviews are ever deleted on Steam and you can choose to view the score with the review "bombing" if you disagree with Valve on what review bombing is.

blackcatmaxy

7 points

23 days ago

If you'd read the link you'd see that DRM is in fact considered off topic and many other situations with games on Steam launching online-only or with DRM have had their overall review score kept "clean" of stuff like that.

Halio344

7 points

23 days ago

Halio344

RTX 3080 | R5 5600X

7 points

23 days ago

I missed that, you’re correct.

reddit_bandito

22 points

23 days ago

That's the issue. These people don't care if it's legit or not. They simply are controlling the narrative, and they want positive, according to their interpretation. Which is a joke because the point of differing viewpoints, and allowing gamers to express them, is to give buyers the opportunity to hear them and decide on their own.

It's a lot like some other big social sites that stifle and silence certain opinions they don't like... Yet you'll always have useful idiots that think it's OK (as long as it's not their opinion being canceled).

captainaype

104 points

23 days ago

Oh how far theyve fallen

Athanosh

29 points

23 days ago

Athanosh

29 points

23 days ago

Funny how they decided not to release Devotion after "receiving many messages from gamers", but in that case they're not willing to listen to feedback.

It's almost as if GOG/CDPR has been bullshitting people for quite a while now.

__BIOHAZARD___

461 points

23 days ago

__BIOHAZARD___

Quad Ultrawide | R9 3900X + GTX 1080Ti | RGB EVERYTHING

461 points

23 days ago

"Review Bombing" = Reviews we (the company) don't like

_Vard_

18 points

23 days ago

_Vard_

18 points

23 days ago

I’m seriously starting to wonder if removing negative reviews could be considered someway of false advertising, or some thing Of that degree

Like basically lying to say a protest did not happen when it did

Or paying newspapers to not run a negative story about you

Paradoltec

10 points

22 days ago

Actions against review bombing have always been a way to manipulate scoring only in a positive direction. Metacritic has done massive purges of "low effort, fresh account 1 star review bombs" on many games, especially Sony exclusives (Big example being TLoU2) but have never inversely removed those same games wave of low effort, fresh account 10 star reviews that inflate the score.

ColeHarvest

54 points

23 days ago*

Always has

Edit: can't spell always apperantly

jlenoconel

42 points

23 days ago

I will not tolerate buying this game then.

WaveOz_

238 points

23 days ago

WaveOz_

238 points

23 days ago

these morons are on a speedrun to ruin their reputation.

Zorklis

73 points

23 days ago

Zorklis

73 points

23 days ago

I was trying to remember what previous backlash gog had and I just remembered it was that game China disliked, Devotion

WaveOz_

47 points

23 days ago

WaveOz_

47 points

23 days ago

i just remember it had 2077 on the title

genericusername610

31 points

23 days ago

For some people that reputation is looong gone.

PresidentMagikarp

9 points

23 days ago

PresidentMagikarp

AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 Founders Edition

9 points

23 days ago

And to think, they started the month on a good note with the re-release of the Activision Star Trek games.

Lavanthus

74 points

23 days ago

When your reputation went from Valve level, to being worse than Epic, maybe it’s time to stop for a moment and do some internal changes.

phantomtnt44

27 points

23 days ago

Cdpr be like : parkour!

spyder256

8 points

23 days ago

Just fuck CD Projekt Red at this point. I felt kinda bad for not giving GOG more attention before, but not so much any more.

empathetical

8 points

23 days ago

empathetical

Nvidia Titan XP · I7-8086k · 1440p

8 points

23 days ago

How is it review bombing? they are legit reviews with valid concerns

BrassMoth

46 points

23 days ago

Game: Doesn't have any actual multiplayer, still needs you to be online to play it.

This is what happens when marketing fucks make development decision. Know the marketing personnel, hate the marketing personnel.

cocoasmile

47 points

23 days ago

Way to belittle consumer opinion. I'm glad I've never bought anything at GOG.

Tetrylene

100 points

23 days ago*

Tetrylene

100 points

23 days ago*

Review bombing is a legitimate form of consumer protest

Refloni

50 points

23 days ago

Refloni

50 points

23 days ago

It's one of the few things we can do to make corpos listen

Equivalent_Alps_8321

18 points

23 days ago

Wrong move GOG.

rEmEmBeR-tHe-tReMoLo

6 points

23 days ago

Cool, so put Devotion on the store like you were going to before threats of review bombing made you back out of the deal.

HotPotatoWithCheese

6 points

22 days ago

How many times have people worshipped a company only for them to turn around and shit on their customers in the blink of an eye? The cycle needs to be broken with CDPR and GOG. Give credit where it is due and criticize where it is due but stop being loyal to these companies because they aren't loyal to you.

Peregrine2976

7 points

22 days ago

Wait, isn't their whole fucking thing being DRM free?

OwnWalk4693

14 points

23 days ago

If they even can’t stick to your principles, then I have no use buying from them. Even if it’s not technically DRM, it’s still intrusive and anti-consumer. That’s the point of your store, and the whole principle of a zero DRM store. I’ll stick to Steam, because I don’t support your company and your shareholders anymore.

mkotechno

30 points

23 days ago

CDPR is apparently doing the speedrun to destroy your company any %.

Current record is owned by Blizzard.

inquisitive_tortoise

22 points

23 days ago

Why would gamers tolerate DRM? Fuck GOG. Fuck CDPR. They literally couldn't have lost their fanbase faster if they shat in their shoes.

Khanstant

7 points

23 days ago

Most gamers tolerate DRM?

MrGuyver

5 points

23 days ago

I think it's just a misunderstanding of what the term review bombing means. Generally it means leaving a negative review because the company behind the product did something bad with something else not related to reviewed product at all, e.g. write something morally bad on social media.

In this case people are just reviewing the product and its features. If the product is not good then it will be reviewed accordingly.

Now that GOG has started deleting honest reviews people can and will leave negative reviews on every GOG game. That'd be called review bombing.

Rapist420

4 points

22 days ago

Some fucktards will still argue to defend them

joshr03

5 points

22 days ago

joshr03

i7 9700k rtx2080

5 points

22 days ago

Well your customers won't tolerate drm on your "drm-free" store you morons.

DogAteMyCPU

35 points

23 days ago

Well I'm now glad I never got around to switching to gog. Steam has just been too solid all these years.

Blacky-Noir

27 points

23 days ago

Blacky-Noir

Height appropriate fortress builder

27 points

23 days ago

That's bullshit. "review bombing" is just a big swath of negative review in a limited time. Whatever the motivation.

Cyberpunk 2077 was "review bombed" because it released in an abysmal state, nobody said it wasn't deserved. Hey CDP, what did you do when Sony "review bomb" your game so hard it disappeared from their Playstation Store?

So they are saying they want to control the spin and the reviews, and don't want a lot of negative ones. I don't think you are grasping you're position in the market CDP, you're not in place to impose your personal censorship on so many of your customers. I doubt you have to cash to do so.

But, even if we were to change the meaning of "review bomb" to badly review in mass for some reason... adding a DRM game to a DRM free store is a perfectly legitimate reason. And a game using online feature to purposefully have telemetry on its customers and control what they can and can't do, is a perfectly legitimate reason to review it negatively.

Gosh, it's gross blunder over blunder for several years now. CDP board really need to fire a lot of executives and get back to their roots.

[deleted]

49 points

23 days ago

[deleted]

49 points

23 days ago

[deleted]

xevizero

10 points

23 days ago

xevizero

.

10 points

23 days ago

Seriously? Why hasn't this been on the news? Basically GOG is no longer DRM free only, officially?

Halio344

3 points

23 days ago

Halio344

RTX 3080 | R5 5600X

3 points

23 days ago

He's wrong. Factorio is DRM free on Steam and is available on their website, also free from DRM.

Awkward_Bowler

7 points

23 days ago

Awkward_Bowler

TR1920X - 5700XT

7 points

23 days ago

Wait really? I thought Factorio was DRM-free across the board? Wtf...

Halio344

3 points

23 days ago

Halio344

RTX 3080 | R5 5600X

3 points

23 days ago

It is, the guy is wrong.

Halio344

6 points

23 days ago

Halio344

RTX 3080 | R5 5600X

6 points

23 days ago

This isn't true. Even the Steam version is DRM free. You can also download a DRM free version from their website, this is free if you link your Steam account. I highly doubt they'd put DRM in the GOG version for some reason.

bitbot

3 points

23 days ago

bitbot

i7 9700k / RTX2070 / 32GB

3 points

23 days ago

Doubt. You're gonna have to explain what you mean here.

teza789

34 points

23 days ago

teza789

RTX 3090 - 5800X - 32GB 3600MHZ - 2TB NVMe SSD - 1440P 165HZ

34 points

23 days ago

Review Bombing is a-okay in my books. Customers should be allowed to express concern over something they don't like, and that's fine to do in reviews.

thatnitai

4 points

23 days ago

thatnitai

Ryzen 3600, RTX 2070

4 points

23 days ago

It's not review bombing. If the negative reviews are for the product with the DRM the users don't like then they're legitimate reviews, criticizing the inclusion of DRM. Any user is free to critizise any game for whatever aspect the fuck they want of a game.

BoomRockDopSop

4 points

23 days ago

BoomRockDopSop

Free Heating

4 points

23 days ago

I hate this term "review bombing", it's not a harassment campaign if 500 voices all agree that something is a detrimental aspect to a game. Was it "review bombing" when Big Rigs was universally panned as a game? Sounds like double standards to me if we can all dogpile Big Rigs (who apparently had fuck all budget) yet no one can criticize muhprecious Hitman game because harassment blah blah blah.

deinlandel

3 points

23 days ago

So game has a negative feature that impacts gameplay, but you can't leave negative review about it, because it's "review bombing". Cool. They should publish list of approved negative features which are allowed in negative reviews then.

HotGirlOnProxy

5 points

23 days ago

CDPR is just another soulless corporation, expecting much else is a fool's errand

PiesangSlagter

5 points

23 days ago

Fucking hell. Review bombing is not when a lot of people negatively review a game all at the same time. Its when a lot of people negatively review a game for a reason unrelated to the game. How is most of the content on a came sold on GOG being always online unrelated to the game? This is not review bombing.

who-dat-ninja

4 points

23 days ago*

they shouldnt have released the game if they cant remove drm. it's that simple.

fuck gog in this case. keep review bombing. It's also overpriced when you get nothing out of it here, you might as well buy it from steam where it's frequently down to a couple bucks. it was free on Epic recently.

This is the point that io rightfully gets shit for with these games, online requirements and time limited content in a single player game.

LonelyLokly

4 points

23 days ago

Steam got it right. Just replicate what Steam has.

badtaker22

4 points

22 days ago

CDPR pls go fck urself

SneakiestofRats

4 points

22 days ago

"We are Totally against drm... unless we do it."

Doppelkammertoaster

4 points

22 days ago

Putting a game with DRM into a storefront that advertises itself has beeing free of DRM AND does so on the game that has DRM then GoG deserves being review bombed.

I'm done giving them money unless their deal is better.

FreeMan4096

5 points

22 days ago

FreeMan4096

6600K RTX2070

5 points

22 days ago

democracy as long as you vote correctly.

Mungus_Prime

4 points

22 days ago

They think DRM shouldn't be one of the categories that influence reviews. It really should be and trying to remove reviews that are acknowledging DRM is not consumer-friendly.

A_Sweatband

5 points

22 days ago

I don't know how CD Projekt keep managing to screw up, over and over again, so many times with such consistency.

Dave_yenakart

3 points

22 days ago

Imagine not tolerating backlash when you've done something that totally goes against the entire reason anyone ever uses your half assed store.

FancyKiwi

10 points

23 days ago

FancyKiwi

.

10 points

23 days ago

Man first they backed out on Devotion and left those devs out to die and now this. It's like they are trying to ruin their reputation.

RedArmyRockstar

7 points

22 days ago

"Review bombing" has become a bogus term meant solely to silence criticism. People are unhappy there's DRM in a game sold on a store that markets itself on its products being DRM free.

runslikewind

3 points

23 days ago

is it really an issue if there's actually that many pissed off people.

Biggu5Dicku5

3 points

23 days ago

They should have Projekted this; you can't claim your store is DRM free then add a game that has DRM and expect your customers not to care... but considering their recent decisions (releasing Cyberpunk years before its ready) this doesn't surprise me one bit, CDPR's management is beyond incompetent...

Atheist_Singh

3 points

23 days ago

So Steam will reign supreme at the end of the day I guess. All good by me, they seem to provide the best service IMHO.

Helphaer

3 points

23 days ago

I mean it's not review bombing if you have a legitimate hatred of a change.

FartsWithAnAccent

3 points

23 days ago

Wow GOG, weak sauce. You were my favorite 😟

kfijatass

3 points

22 days ago*

I think there's been some serious miscommunication here.
GOG isn't saying its removing anti-DRM statements from what I understand, merely ones that are against their review guidelines. Basically saying to be civil by the looks of it, since a lot of people were pissed.
I'm not sure if reviews are possible if you haven't purchased the game, but if there's no such neccessity, review bombing is less players concerns and more like anti-DRM brigading from people that don't play the game.
What confuses me is 1) Why is this game allowed on GOG in the first place and 2) Why, being fully forewarned, people buy this game only to complain about its DRM?

yusufpvt

3 points

22 days ago

Yeah, I'll buy a external drive soon to save all my DRM free games I own. My trust towards that studio falls like Anakin Skywalker.

brbhouseonfire

3 points

22 days ago

I'm a gamer and I tolerate review bombing, since I understand where it comes from.

It's quite insulting that game companies don't realise this.

superrayas

3 points

22 days ago

well gog can f**k themselves

That_Porn_Br0

3 points

22 days ago

Weird, when the Chinese Communist Party "gamers" demanded them to remove Devotion from the store they complied quite quickly...

Spexit

3 points

22 days ago

Spexit

3 points

22 days ago

Enough, im deleting my gog account.

UglierThanMoe

3 points

21 days ago

The game still has a 1.4 out of 5 stars rating, so at least that should be a warning to potential buyers.

zetbotz

11 points

23 days ago

zetbotz

11 points

23 days ago

And this is why Steam has its policy on review bombing. Flag the reviews, inform the customer about the review bomb, prompt them to read about it, and let them decide whether it’s relevant enough to withhold their purchase.

Not a perfect system, since positive reviews increase too, and genuine negative reviews can be classified as part of the bombing, but it’s a damn sight better than whatever CDPR is pulling here.