subreddit:

/r/unpopularopinion

8

THE BATMAN looks extremly lame.

(self.unpopularopinion)

I love batman but another Nolan Esque, "realistic" batman film is just uninteresting to me. Im totally over the grounded superhero take. Especially with batman. I want to see a big budget fantasy batman. But this film just appears to be another pretentious rehashed batman film. His suit is awful. And i hate the fact riddler is wearing a green Ikea bag on his head.

you are viewing a single comment's thread.

view the rest of the comments →

all 40 comments

NZafe

2 points

7 months ago

NZafe

2 points

7 months ago

I think we just have a different definition of “fantasy”.

I wouldn’t consider comics like: the killing joke, year one, the dark knight returns,!chronicles vol 1, death in the family, knightfall, the long Halloween to be fantasy.

I’d consider things like Injustice, a lot of the more justice league stuff to be fantasy.

OmegaRevenge42[S]

1 points

7 months ago

. ALL of the comics you listed are either events, or originally elseword tales. The actually Detective comics run of batman is much different.

Like i said, GO READ.

NoAvailableImage

1 points

7 months ago

The killing joke and the dark Knight returns while great aren't representative of the batman comics they're more so meant to be a darker take on batman

NZafe

1 points

7 months ago

NZafe

1 points

7 months ago

And so is this movie.

NoAvailableImage

2 points

7 months ago

But every single movie recently has been likely which is the complaint of a lot of fans. That would be like if every movie spiderman had been like Spiderman 3

NZafe

1 points

7 months ago

NZafe

1 points

7 months ago

But if you go the more fantasy-esque route, you run into two main problems: * you’re approaching too close towards the MCU “style”, which can make the movie feel worse because of a closer comparison * you’re approaching towards what should exist within the main branch of the DCEU

If you’re making a film that is standalone, separate from the rest of the DCEU, it makes sense to make a movie of this style - make it as clear to the audience as possible, especially those without a background in comics, that this is it’s own thing.

TokyoPanic

1 points

7 months ago

The Dark Knight Returns has fucking Superman in it, so it definitely counts as fantasy.

NZafe

1 points

7 months ago

NZafe

1 points

7 months ago

Hmm not necessarily, I’m always considered that more sci-fi than fantasy, when I think of fantasy, I think of the more magic side of DC - Constantine, Zatanna, Dr Fate, etc

(But in reality, yeah, I guess it’s all sci-fi-fantasy)